October 30, 2006 - Afterall - Issue 14 and launch of Afterall Online
October 30, 2006

Issue 14 and launch of Afterall Online

Afterall Issue 14
October 2006

Afterall is a journal of contemporary art published twice a year in London and Los Angeles. In each issue the editors select five artists whose work we find compelling, with the idea that the juxtaposition of very different bodies of work adds to the interpretation and understanding of each practice.

Afterall is also launching its new website, which includes a full archive of back issues and Afterall Online, a section that features specially commissioned interviews, articles and reviews.

Visit www.afterall.org

Afterall Issue 14
October 2006
Ibon Aranberri
Essays: Peio Aguirre and Pip Day
Bernadette Corporation
Essays: Janet Sarbanes, Bernadette Corporation
and Jian-Xing Too
Andrea Bowers
Essays: Jill Dawsey and Mike Sperlinger
Ivan Grubanov
Essays: Rebecca Gordon Nesbitt and Philippe Pirotte
Julie Mehretu
Essays: Peter Eleey and Lauri Firstenberg

Contextual essays: Mark Lewis and Lane Relyea

We are pleased to announce the publication of Afterall issue 14, which focuses on the work of Ibon Aranberri, Bernadette Corporation, Andrea Bowers, Ivan Grubanov and Julie Mehretu. The choice of artists was made according to the position they take in relation to the history and present of artistic practice and to the political and social context which they inhabit. The issue includes essays by Lane Relyea and Mark Lewis the latter is Afteralls first contribution to documenta 12 magazine, www.documenta.de

Afterall is also launching its new website, which includes Afterall Online, a section that will feature specially commissioned material. Regularly updated content will include reviews from Los Angeles, London and elsewhere, interviews with artists about their practice, occasional longer essays on theoretical and philosophical topics and artists projects.

Afterall Books is publishing two new titles this autumn, Richard Prince: Untitled (couple) by Michael Newman and Joan Jonas: I Want to Live in the Country (And Other Romances) by Susan Morgan. For more information please visit mitpress.mit.edu/afterall

On the occasion of the website launch, Afterall is offering special online subscription deals. For more information on Afterall or to subscribe, visit www.afterall.org

Share - Issue 14 and launch of Afterall Online
  • Share