2016 awardees

2016 awardees

Headlands Center for the Arts

Clockwise from upper-left: Jonas Dahlberg, Ewa Wesolowska, Candice Lin, Iman Issa, and Firelei Báez.*
December 2, 2015
2016 awardees

Headlands Center for the Arts
944 Fort Barry
Sausalito, CA 94965


Headlands Center for the Arts is pleased to announce the 51 artists and collaboratives who have been awarded into its renowned Artist in Residence program for 2016, including alumni who will receive project-specific support through Alumni New Works. The creative practitioners in this year’s lineup represent 18 countries, 10 states, and a multitude of practices that will come together here at Headlands with the direct support of fully sponsored, live-in residencies designed to sustain their artistic processes. Awardees will be onsite during one of three sessions over the year: spring, summer, and fall. All awardees are listed below by discipline.

Inaugural Larry Sultan Photography Award to Marco Breuer. Presented in partnership with Pier 24 Photography, California College of the Arts (CCA), and SFMOMA, the Larry Sultan Photography Award honors the unique vision of American photographer Larry Sultan and his unparalleled impact by recognizing one photographer a year with a fully sponsored residency and a 10,000 USD cash prize.

Chiaro Award for painters to Firelei Báez. The Chiaro Award isa fully sponsored residency and 15,000 USD cash prize for an accomplished mid-career painter residing in the United States.

Chamberlain Award to Fernando García-Dory. The Chamberlain Award supports artists who display exceptional merit in the discipline of social practice. The Chamberlain Award includes a fully sponsored residency and a 5,000 USD cash prize.

Richard Diebenkorn Teaching Fellowship, offered in partnership with the San Francisco Art Institute, to Brad Kahlhamer. Established in 1998 by the family of painter Richard Diebenkorn—an alumnus and longtime faculty member of San Francisco Art Institute (SFAI)—the Richard Diebenkorn Teaching Fellowship generously provides an opportunity for artists to teach at SFAI while having the time and financial support for creative new work while in residence at Headlands.

Complete list of 2016 AIRs by discipline 

Firelei Báez (New York), Chiaro Award / Andrea Bowers (California) / Marco Breuer (New York), Larry Sultan Photography Award / Jedediah Caesar & Kate Costello (California) / Chris Duncan (California), Project Space / Fritzia Irizar (Mexico), Project Space / Iman Issa (Egypt/New York) / Prajakti Jayavant (California) / Andrea Joki, Ohio / Brad Kahlhamer (New York), Richard Diebenkorn Teaching Fellowship / Samson Kambalu (Malawi/United Kingdom) / Jamila Lamrani (Morocco) / Cybele Lyle (California), Project Space / Toyin Ojih Odutola (New York) / Ciara Phillips (Scotland) / Sopheap Pich (Cambodia) / Gwenaël Rattke (Germany) / Sheilah Wilson (Ohio)

Mauricio Arango (New York) / Life After Life (Paige K. Johnston and Karthik Pandian) (Vermont), Project Space / Candice Lin (California) / Noam Toran (United Kingdom) / Ewa Wesolowska (Poland) / Arseny Zhilyaev (Russia)

Social Practice 
Fernando García-Dory (Spain), Chamberlain Award / Alejandro Guzmán (New York), Project Space / Andrea Reynosa (New York)

Lucy Ives (New York) / Ken Kalfus (Pennsylvania) / Rachel Monroe (Texas) / Cheryl Tan (New York) / Cassandra Troyan (Illinois) / Greg Youmans (Washington)

Jesse Bonnell (New York) / Malik Gaines (New York) / Lars Jan, Early Morning Opera (California) / Sara Shelton Mann (California) / Christopher White (California)

Film/Video/New Media
Rosa Barba (Germany) / Chen Xiaoyun (China) / Ted Passon (Pennsylvania) / Sarah Rara (California), Project Space

Philip Dadson (New Zealand) / Guy Klucevsek (New York) / Brian Mumford (Oregon) / Aki Onda (New York) / Mirah Yom Tov Zeitlyn (New York)

Jonas Dahlberg (Sweden)

Arts Professional 
Jennifer Kabat (New York)

2016 Alumni New Works awardees
Alumni New Works is a project-based award program that supports the contemporary creative practices of Headlands Alumni in the form of return visits of two to six weeks, along with cash grants of 1,000–5,000 USD to assist with project execution.

Recipients of the 2016 Alumni New Works Award:
Olive Bieringa & Otto Ramstad (Minnesota), Performance/Dance
Erik Moskowitz & Amanda Trager (New York), Film, Video, New Media


*Image above (clockwise from upper-left): Jonas Dahlberg, Memory Wound at Sørbråten. Selected for Memorial Sites, Norway, 2012; Ewa Wesolowska, Follow the Yellow Red Line, 2012; Candice Lin, It Makes the Patient See Pictures, 2012. Installation view at Francois Ghebaly Gallery, Los Angeles; Iman Issa, Monologist (Study for 2014), 2014. Metal sculpture, text panel under glass. Part of the “Lexicon” series. Installation view; Firelei Báez, Active Boundaries, 2011. Ink and acrylic on Yupo. All images courtesy of the artists.


Headlands Center for the Arts announces 2016 awardees

RSVP for 2016 awardees
Headlands Center for the Arts
December 2, 2015

Thank you for your RSVP.

Headlands Center for the Arts will be in touch.


e-flux announcements are emailed press releases for art exhibitions from all over the world.

Agenda delivers news from galleries, art spaces, and publications, while Criticism publishes reviews of exhibitions and books.

Architecture announcements cover current architecture and design projects, symposia, exhibitions, and publications from all over the world.

Film announcements are newsletters about screenings, film festivals, and exhibitions of moving image.

Education announces academic employment opportunities, calls for applications, symposia, publications, exhibitions, and educational programs.

Sign up to receive information about events organized by e-flux at e-flux Screening Room, Bar Laika, or elsewhere.

I have read e-flux’s privacy policy and agree that e-flux may send me announcements to the email address entered above and that my data will be processed for this purpose in accordance with e-flux’s privacy policy*

Thank you for your interest in e-flux. Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.