Harvard GSD introduces jury
for 2014 Wheelwright Prize

Harvard GSD introduces jury
for 2014 Wheelwright Prize

Harvard University Graduate School of Design

Wheelwright Prize 2014 Jury (left to right, top to bottom): Iñaki Ábalos, K. Michael Hays, Mohsen Mostafavi, Sílvia Benedito, Linda Pollak, Shohei Shigematsu, Jorge Silvetti, Pedro Gadanho.
January 18, 2014
Harvard GSD introduces jury for 2014 Wheelwright Prize

International competition for 100,000 USD travel-based
fellowship opens January 20, 2014

Harvard University
Graduate School of Design
48 Quincy Street
Cambridge, MA 02138


The competition for Harvard Graduate School of Design’s Wheelwright Prize 2014 is officially open to early-career architects all over the world. The aim of this unique prize is to foster new forms of research informed by cross-cultural engagement. The website wheelwrightprize.org begins accepting applications for this 100,000 USD travel-based research grant on January 20. Candidates must register by starting their applications by February 15; the deadline is March 4. A winner will be announced in April.

The prize is an update of Harvard GSD’s Arthur Wheelwright Traveling Fellowship, which was established in 1935. The fellowship was previously available only to GSD alumni. In 2013, under GSD Dean Mohsen Mostafavi, the school decided to open the prize to architects practicing anywhere in the world; an affiliation to Harvard GSD is no longer required. The 2013 winner was 35-year-old Brooklyn-based Gia Wolff, who won with her proposal, Floating City: The Community-Based Architecture of Parade Floats, a study of the elaborate temporary and mobile constructions realized annually for carnival festivals around the world. The 2013 jury commended the continuity between Wolff’s previous work, which deals with performance, spectacle, and temporality, and her proposed subject and its relevance to contemporary concerns for mobility, flexibility, and community-based design and production processes.

The jury for the 2014 Wheelwright Prize follows:

Mohsen Mostafavi is an architect, educator, and dean of Harvard University GSD. He serves on the steering committee of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture and the board of the Van Alen Institute, and consults on numerous international design and urban projects. His publications include Landscape Urbanism: A Manual for the Machinic Landscape (2004) and Ecological Urbanism (2010).

Iñaki Ábalos is chair of the Department of Architecture at Harvard GSD and founding member of Ábalos + Sentkiewicz Arquitectos (since 2007) and Ábalos and Herreros (1984–2007). His firm’s interdisciplinary design work focuses on the interaction of architecture, technology, landscape, and culture. Ábalos has written extensively on architecture in publications such as The Good Life (2000) and Picturesque Atlas (2005–07), and, co-authored with Juan Herreros, Le Corbusier Skyscrapers (1988) and Tower and Office (2003).

Sílvia Benedito is an assistant professor of landscape architecture at Harvard GSD and serves as the co-chair of the Sensory Media Platform. Benedito received degrees in music and architecture from Coimbra’s Conservatory of Music and Coimbra University, respectively, before earning a post-professional degree in urban design from Harvard GSD. She was a senior associate at James Corner Field Operations and is the co-principal of OFICINAA, an award-winning architecture, landscape and urban design practice based in Cambridge (USA) and Ingolstadt (Germany).

– Pedro Gadanho is the curator of contemporary architecture in the Department of Architecture and Design at the Museum of Modern Art, New York. Since he joined MoMA in 2012, he curated the exhibitions 9+1 Ways of Being Political (2012–13) and Cut’n’Paste (2013–14), and he is responsible for the MoMA PS1 Young Architects Program. Previously, he divided his activity between architecture, teaching, writing, and curating.

K. Michael Hays is Eliot Noyes Professor of Architectural Theory and associate dean of Academic Affairs at Harvard GSD. Hays was the founder of the scholarly journal Assemblage and the first adjunct curator of architecture at the Whitney Museum of American Art (2000–09). His research and scholarship focus on European modernism and critical theory.

– Linda Pollak is a principal of Marpillero Pollak Architects (MPA), an award-winning firm based in New York. A graduate of the GSD, Pollak was the recipient of the Arthur C. Wheelwright Traveling Fellowship in 1987–88 and taught at GSD from 1992 to 2004. She is coauthor of Inside Outside: Between Architecture and Landscape (2003) and has contributed essays to several books. She serves on the board of directors of the Storefront for Art and Architecture and advisory board of the Beverly Willis Architecture Foundation.

Shohei Shigematsu joined OMA in 1998 and became a partner in 2008. He has led the OMA office in New York since 2006 and is responsible for OMA’s operations in North America. Under his direction, the New York office oversaw the completion of Milstein Hall at Cornell University, Quebec National Beaux Arts museum, and Faena Arts Center in Miami Beach. He has also led numerous collaborations with artists, including Kanye West, Marina Abramovic, and Cai Guo Qiang. He is a design critic for Harvard GSD.

Jorge Silvetti is a principal of Machado Silvetti and the recipient of numerous awards, including 10 Progressive Architecture Awards, and his writings have appeared in Oppositions, Daidalos, and Assemblage. He has been teaching at Harvard GSD since 1975; he was named the Nelson Robinson, Jr. Professor of Architecture in 1990, and served as chair of the Department of Architecture from 1995 to 2002.

For more information, visit wheelwrightprize.org or email [email protected].

RSVP for Harvard GSD introduces jury for 2014 Wheelwright Prize
Harvard University Graduate School of Design
January 18, 2014

Thank you for your RSVP.

Harvard University Graduate School of Design will be in touch.


e-flux announcements are emailed press releases for art exhibitions from all over the world.

Agenda delivers news from galleries, art spaces, and publications, while Criticism publishes reviews of exhibitions and books.

Architecture announcements cover current architecture and design projects, symposia, exhibitions, and publications from all over the world.

Film announcements are newsletters about screenings, film festivals, and exhibitions of moving image.

Education announces academic employment opportunities, calls for applications, symposia, publications, exhibitions, and educational programs.

Sign up to receive information about events organized by e-flux at e-flux Screening Room, Bar Laika, or elsewhere.

I have read e-flux’s privacy policy and agree that e-flux may send me announcements to the email address entered above and that my data will be processed for this purpose in accordance with e-flux’s privacy policy*

Thank you for your interest in e-flux. Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.