The Critical Dialogue Series 2014

The Critical Dialogue Series 2014

Temple University

Ralph Lemon, The Critical Dialogue Series, October 16, 2013. Video still. Image courtesy Tyler School of Art Archive.

January 17, 2014
The Critical Dialogue Series 2014

Tyler School of Art, Temple University
2001 North 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19122

[email protected]
T + 1 215 777 9000

The Critical Dialogue Series – Spring 2014

All lectures take place on Wednesday at 6pm in Tyler School of Art – Auditorium B004 and are free and open to the public:

- Ingrid Calame, January 22

- Bahar Behbahani, January 29

- Derrick Adams, February 5

- Lisa Ruyter, February 12

- Dr. Bonaventure Ndikung & Saskia Köbschall,


- Lee Quinones, February 26

- Tim Bavington, March 12

- Titus Kaphur, March 19

- Giles Lyon, March 26

- Ellen Phelan, April 23

The Critical Dialogue Series
The Critical Dialogue Series is a core component of the MFA program in Painting and Sculpture at the Tyler School of Art. It is an opportunity for students to interact with some of the most renowned artists, critics, theorists, art historians, curators, philosophers, filmmakers, musicians, choreographers and architects working today. Over the past few years, we have hosted lectures by Alice Aycock, Dara Birnbaum, Mary Ceruti, Beatriz Colomina, Angela Dufresne, Peter Eleey, Hal Foster, Su Friedrich, RoseLee Goldberg, Hans Haacke, Jens Hoffmann, Joan Jonas, Ralph Lemon, José Lerma, Fionn Meade, John Miller, Wangechi Mutu, Sarah Oppenheimer, John Rajchman, Christian Rattemeyer, Doreen Remen, R.H. Quaytman, Dana Schutz, Josh Siegel, P. Adams Sitney, and Michael Smith and many others.

Tyler School of Art
Tyler School of Art in Philadelphia is a leader in educating artists since the early 1930s. Tyler is ranked among the top 10 MFA programs in Painting and Sculpture by U.S. News and World Report. The MFA Program at the Tyler School of Art is a two-year, full-time, studio-based program rooted in a rich history within a globally influenced, culturally diverse and technologically advancing world. We are committed to providing our students with an understanding of the broad cultural and historical context in which art is made and experienced.

Our notable alumni include Dennis Adams, Polly Apfelbaum, Barbara Chase-Riboud, Cecelia Condit, Trenton Doyle Hancock, Angela Dufresne, Louise Fishman, Robert Gober, Hans Haacke, Virgil Marti, Lisa Sigal, Laurie Simmons, Hannah Wilke, and Lisa Yuskavage, among others.

RSVP for The Critical Dialogue Series 2014
Temple University
January 17, 2014

Thank you for your RSVP.

Temple University will be in touch.


e-flux announcements are emailed press releases for art exhibitions from all over the world.

Agenda delivers news from galleries, art spaces, and publications, while Criticism publishes reviews of exhibitions and books.

Architecture announcements cover current architecture and design projects, symposia, exhibitions, and publications from all over the world.

Film announcements are newsletters about screenings, film festivals, and exhibitions of moving image.

Education announces academic employment opportunities, calls for applications, symposia, publications, exhibitions, and educational programs.

Sign up to receive information about events organized by e-flux at e-flux Screening Room, Bar Laika, or elsewhere.

I have read e-flux’s privacy policy and agree that e-flux may send me announcements to the email address entered above and that my data will be processed for this purpose in accordance with e-flux’s privacy policy*

Thank you for your interest in e-flux. Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.