Wheelwright Prize competition opens; Harvard GSD announces jury for 100,000 USD Traveling Fellowship

Wheelwright Prize competition opens; Harvard GSD announces jury for 100,000 USD Traveling Fellowship

Harvard University Graduate School of Design

Modernist housing superblocks of Brasília, studied by Farès el-DahDah as part of his research project as a recipient of the Arthur W. Wheelwright Traveling Fellowship in 2000–01. El-DahDah is a member of the jury of the 2013 Wheelwright Prize.
February 9, 2013
Wheelwright Prize competition opens; Harvard GSD announces jury for 100,000 USD Traveling Fellowship

Application deadline: February 28, 2013


The competition for Harvard Graduate School of Design’s Wheelwright Prize is officially open to early-career architects all over the world. The website wheelwrightprize.org is currently accepting applications for this unique 100,000 USD travel-based research grant. Applicants must register by starting their applications by February 15 (there is no fee to register); deadline for applications is February 28. The winner of the 2013 Wheelwright Prize will be selected from an international pool of applicants and announced on May 15.

The prize is an update of Harvard GSD’s Arthur Wheelwright Traveling Fellowship, which was established in 1935. For the last 77 years, the fellowship was available only to GSD alumni. Under Dean Mohsen Mostafavi, the school has decided to open the prize to architects practicing anywhere in the world; an affiliation to Harvard GSD is no longer required. The aim of this unique prize is to foster new forms of research informed by cross-cultural engagement. “The idea is not just about travel—the act of going and seeing the world—but it is about binding the idea of geography to themes and issues that hold great potential relevance to contemporary practice,” says Mostafavi.  

Harvard GSD is pleased to introduce the jury for the first edition of the Wheelwright Prize:

Mohsen Mostafavi is an architect, educator, and dean of Harvard University GSD. He serves on the steering committee of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture and the board of the Van Alen Institute, and consults on numerous international design and urban projects. His publications include Landscape Urbanism: A Manual for the Machinic Landscape (Architectural Association Publications, 2004) and Ecological Urbanism (Lars Müller Publishers, 2010).

• Yung Ho Chang is an award-winning architect and principal of Beijing-based practice Atelier Feichang Jianzhu. He teaches architecture at Tonji University in Beijing and at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where he served as head of the Department of Architecture from 2005 to 2010. His work has been included in architecture and art exhibitions worldwide, including the Venice Biennale.

Farès el-DahDah a professor of architecture and director of the Humanities Research Center at Rice University. As a recipient of the Arthur Wheelwright Traveling Fellowship (2000–2001), el-DahDah studied the evolution of utopian superblocks in Brasília since 1960, and he has continued to write about modern architecture in Brazil.  

Farshid Moussavi is the founder of London-based Farshid Moussavi Architecture (FMA) and a professor of architecture at Harvard GSD. She was previously a principal of Foreign Office Architects (FOA), and has served on numerous advisory panels and international design juries, including the RIBA Gold Medal and Stirling Prize. Since 2011, she has been a columnist for Architectural Review.

Zoe Ryan is the John H. Bryan Curator of Architecture and Design at Art Institute of Chicago. Previously senior curator at the Van Alen Institute, Zoë has organized exhibitions on fashion, architecture, industrial and graphic design. She has contributed articles to publications worldwide, and is the author of the book Building with Water: Concepts, Typology, Design (Birkhäuser, 2010). She is currently teaching at both the University of Illinois and the Art Institute of Chicago. 

Jorge Silvetti is a principal of Machado Silvetti and the recipient of numerous awards, including 10 Progressive Architecture Awards, and his writings have appeared in Oppositions, Daidalos, and Assemblage. He has been teaching at Harvard GSD since 1975; he was named the Nelson Robinson, Jr. Professor of Architecture in 1990, and served as chair of the Department of Architecture from 1995 to 2002. He is a member of the Wheelwright Prize organizing committee.

K. Michael Hays is Eliot Noyes Professor of Architectural Theory and associate dean of Academic Affairs at Harvard GSD. Hays was the founder of the scholarly journal Assemblage and the first adjunct curator of architecture at the Whitney Museum of American Art (2000 to 2009). His research and scholarship focus on European modernism and critical theory. He is a member of the Wheelwright Prize organizing committee.

For details about eligibility and the application process, please see wheelwrightprize.org. For more information, contact Cathy Lang Ho, [email protected]. Email inquiries only.


RSVP for Wheelwright Prize competition opens; Harvard GSD announces…
Harvard University Graduate School of Design
February 9, 2013

Thank you for your RSVP.

Harvard University Graduate School of Design will be in touch.


e-flux announcements are emailed press releases for art exhibitions from all over the world.

Agenda delivers news from galleries, art spaces, and publications, while Criticism publishes reviews of exhibitions and books.

Architecture announcements cover current architecture and design projects, symposia, exhibitions, and publications from all over the world.

Film announcements are newsletters about screenings, film festivals, and exhibitions of moving image.

Education announces academic employment opportunities, calls for applications, symposia, publications, exhibitions, and educational programs.

Sign up to receive information about events organized by e-flux at e-flux Screening Room, Bar Laika, or elsewhere.

I have read e-flux’s privacy policy and agree that e-flux may send me announcements to the email address entered above and that my data will be processed for this purpose in accordance with e-flux’s privacy policy*

Thank you for your interest in e-flux. Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.