May 24, 2017 - Graham Foundation - Graham Foundation announces 2017 Grants to Individuals
e-flux Architecture
May 24, 2017
May 24, 2017

Graham Foundation

Caitlin Berrigan, Unfinished State postcard, 2010–13. Helicopter pad at Rachid Karami International Fair Park by Oscar Niemeyer, 1967–75, Tripoli, Lebanon. Courtesy of Caitlin Berrigan and Archive Books. From the 2017 individual grant to Caitlin Berrigan for Unfinished State.

Graham Foundation announces 2017 Grants to Individuals
May 24, 2017

Graham Foundation
4 West Burton Place
Madlener House
Chicago, Illinois 60610
Facebook / Instagram / Twitter

The Graham Foundation is pleased to announce over 560,000 USD in new grants to individuals around the world to support 72 innovative projects engaging original ideas in architecture. Among the funded projects are exhibitions, publications, films, live performances, and site-specific installations. These diverse projects advance new scholarship, fuel creative experimentation and critical dialogue, and expand opportunities for public engagement with architecture and its role in contemporary society.

This year’s awarded projects were selected from a competitive pool of nearly 700 submissions. The funded projects are being undertaken by individuals and collaborative teams72 projects by 99 grantees representing 20 countrieswho include architects, designers, curators, filmmakers, visual artists, musicians, and writers from around the world in cities such as Karachi, Caracas, Venice, Istanbul, and Chicago, where the Graham Foundation is based. They join an international network of individuals and institutions that the Graham Foundation has supported by awarding more than 4,300 grants over the past 61 years in its role as one of the most significant funders in the field of architecture.

To learn more about the 2017 Grants to Individuals, click on any grantee name below to visit their online project page, or go to

Marcelo Araya, Andres Garcés, Iván Ivelic & Manuel Sanfuentes (Viña del Mar, Chile), Daniel Cardoso Llach (Pittsburgh, PA), Assaf Evron (Chicago, IL), Nathan Friedman (New York, NY), Anna Halprin (Kentfield, CA), Suzanne Harris-Brandts & Angela Wheeler (Brooklyn, NY; Somerville, MA), Rick Lowe (Houston, TX), Zahra Malkani & Shahana Rajani (Karachi, Pakistan), Senam Awo Okudzeto  (Basel, Switzerland), Maxi Spina (Los Angeles, CA), Martine Syms (Los Angeles, CA)

Film/Video/New Media Projects
Josef Asteinza & Mariano Ros (New York, NY), TOMA: Leandro Cappetto, Mathias Klenner, Eduardo Perez, Ignacio Rivas & Ignacio Saavedra (Melbourne, Australia; Santiago, Chile), Aggie Ebrahimi, Oscar Molina, Brenda Isabel Steinecke Soto, Catalina Ortiz & Sandra Tabares-Duque (London, United Kingdom; Medellin, Colombia), Daniel Eisenberg (Chicago, IL), Sean Lally (Chicago, IL), Liam Young (London, United Kingdom)

Public Program
Seán Curran & David Skidmore, with Diana Balmori (Chicago, IL; New York, NY)

Kunlé  Adeyemi & Suzanne Lettieri (Amsterdam, the Netherlands; Detroit, MI), Esra Akcan (New York, NY), Barry Bergdoll & Jonathan Massey (New York, NY; San Francisco, CA), Caitlin Berrigan (New York, NY), Michael Carriere & David Schalliol (Milwaukee, WI; Minneapolis, MN), Irene Cheng, Charles L. Davis II & Mabel O. Wilson (Charlotte, NY; New York, NY; San Francisco, CA), Alison J. Clarke (Vienna, Austria), Francesco Dal Co (Venice, Italy), Roberto Damiani (Toronto, Canada), Martha Deese (City Island, NY), Teresa Fankhänel (Dresden, Germany), Leonardo Finotti (São Paulo, Brazil), Reto Geiser (Houston, TX), Design Earth: Rania Ghosn & El Hadi Jazairy (Cambridge, MA), Cristina Goberna & Urtzi Grau (Brooklyn, NY), Sarah Williams Goldhagen (New York, NY), Maria Gough (Cambridge, MA), Helen Gyger (Philadelphia, PA), Aimi Hamraie (Nashville, TN), Rory Hyde (London, United Kingdom), Office for Political Innovation: Andrés Jaque (New York, NY), Omar Kholeif (Chicago, IL), Tiffany Lambert (Brooklyn, NY), Paolo Nicoloso (Buja, Italy), Conor O'Shea (Champaign, IL), Itohan I. Osayimwese (Providence, RI), Kyong Park (Seoul, South Korea), Angelo Plessas (Palaio Faliro, Greece), Mil M2: Fernando Portal (Santiago, Chile), Anders Herwald Ruhwald (Bloomfield Hills, MI), Catherine Seavitt Nordenson (New York, NY), Elisa Silva (Caracas, Venezuela), Christopher Sims (Mebane, NC), Anna-Sophie Springer & Etienne Turpin (Berlin, Germany; Jakarta, Indonesia), Molly Wright Steenson (Pittsburgh, PA), Paulo Tavares (Brasília, Brazil), Allyson Vieira (New York, NY)

Michelle Moore Apotsos (Williamstown, MA), Tulay Atak (Brooklyn, NY), Lee Azus (Ypsilanti, MI), Andrea Bagnato (Milan, Italy), Eva Díaz (Brooklyn, NY), WAI Think Tank: Nathalie Frankowski & Cruz Garcia (Beijing, China), Miyuki Aoki Girardelli (Istanbul, Turkey), Virginia Hanusik (New Orleans, LA), Sophie Debiasi Hochhäusl (Boston, MA), Branden W. Joseph, Felicity D. Scott & Mark Wasiuta (New York, NY), Jeffrey Mansfield (Cambridge, MA), Rebecca O'Neal Dagg (Auburn, AL), Jason Oddy (London, United Kingdom), MK Smaby & Carolyn Wheeler (Oakland, CA; Tulsa, OK), Irene V. Small (Princeton, NJ), Despina Stratigakos (Princeton, NJ), Chat Travieso (Brooklyn, NY)

Graham Foundation
Share - Graham Foundation announces 2017 Grants to Individuals
  • Share