September 6, 2017 - Royal Institute of British Architects - RIBA International Prize 2018
e-flux Architecture
September 6, 2017
September 6, 2017

Royal Institute of British Architects

UTEC - Universidad de Ingenieria y Tecnologia, winner of the RIBA International Prize 2016. © Iwan Baan. Courtesy of Grafton Architects.


RIBA International Prize 2018
Entries now open

Deadline: October 17, 2017

About the RIBA International Prize
The RIBA International Prize, established in 2015 is the first global prize for architecture that has been created by the RIBA. The prestigious biennial prize is open to any registered architect in the world and is awarded to a new building of any size, type or budget.

The prize celebrates architectural ambition on a global scale and is an invitation to showcase how design is addressing the concerns of today.

The RIBA are calling for practices worldwide to submit their projects for consideration, from small scale innovative designs to major cultural developments, in this global search for an example of the best in civic architecture today. Projects should have been completed within the past two years, and the winning building will exemplify visionary and innovative thinking, excellence of execution but also the distinct contribution that it makes to its users and to its physical context.

The winner of the RIBA International Prize will be selected following a rigorous judging process that will see two expert panels of jurors visit each of the shortlisted buildings, before the Grand Jury selects four finalists to visit in person. The winning building will be announced in November 2018.

The prestigious award will be adjudicated by a stellar Grand Jury led by Elizabeth Diller, partner of acclaimed US firm, Diller Scofidio + Renfro, and includes Joshua Bolchover, co-founder of Rural Urban Framework, and acclaimed choreographer Wayne McGregor CBE who will bring his passion and unique perspective on architecture to the Prize.

Celebrating architecture worldwide
In 2016 the RIBA awards committee visited buildings in over 20 countries in five continents. Projects shortlisted for the 2016 prize represented major new additions to their contexts and communities from Azerbaijan to Mexico City, Norway to Peru; from the finely restored industrial complex of a new contemporary arts centre in The Azores, Arquipelago Contemporary Arts Centre, to a war memorial in Northern France engraved with the names of the hundreds of thousands who died in the First World War, The Ring of Remembrance.

The RIBA discovered a range of innovative responses to the role of public architecture through the RIBA Awards for International Excellence, which named 21 recipients and recognised new buildings from all corners of the globe. Looking to the future, the RIBA International Emerging Architect Prize was awarded to Rural Urban Framework HKUrban Lab, The University of Hong Kong, for their ambitious plan for Angdong Hospital in Baojing County, China.

The RIBA International prize was awarded to Grafton Architects for their outstanding university building, UTEC (Universidad de Ingeniería y Tecnología) in Lima, Peru; a "vertical campus" structure that was dubbed "a modern-day Machu Picchu" by the RIBA Grand Jury panel.

The prize brings international attention to the most inspirational and significant new buildings created across the globe but also to a range of the industry's leading talents, and the visionary clients that have commissioned these buildings.

If you have a project that you wish to enter for an RIBA Award for International Excellence, the RIBA International Emerging Architect and the RIBA International Prize, enter now. Full entry requirements are available. Enter here. Entries will close on October 17, 2017.

Press contact: Rosie Marsh at Flint PR, T 02034632080 / riba [​at​]

Royal Institute of British Architects
Share - RIBA International Prize 2018
  • Share