June 11, 2018 - The Federal Office of Culture (Switzerland) - Swiss Art Awards 2018
June 11, 2018

The Federal Office of Culture (Switzerland)

Swiss Art Awards 2018. Visual identity by Atlas Studio.


Swiss Art Awards 2018
June 12–17, 2018

Opening: June 11, 7pm

Messe Basel
Messeplatz 10
Hall 3
4058 Basel


Today the Swiss Federal Office of Culture announced this year’s winners of the Swiss Art Awards, Switzerland’s most acclaimed art competition. The awards annually honour outstanding positions in contemporary art, architecture as well as mediation.

The Swiss Art Awards are part of Switzerland's oldest and most renowned art competition—the Schweizer Kunstwettbewerb (Swiss Art Competition). Organised annually by the Swiss Federal Office of Culture since 1899, the exhibition offers insight into the current world of art and architecture in Switzerland, and acts as a valuable index for art professionals and art lovers alike. Each of the awards carries a 25,000 CHF prize.

Award ceremony and exhibition running in parallel with Art Basel
The works of the laureates and of all shortlisted participants of the Swiss Art Competition are on view in the Swiss Art Awards 2018 presentation, conceived by Léa Fluck. The exhibition space opens tonight, June 11 at 7pm, and will mark the beginning of a dense art week in Basel.

Swiss Art Awards 2018 laureates

Camille Alena (*1986, works in London)
Nicolas Cilins (*1985, works in Geneva)
Nelly Haliti (*1987, works in Geneva)
Sarah Margnetti (*1983, works in Switzerland and Brussels)
Marius Margot (*1989, works in Geneva)
Real Madrid (founded in 2015, work in Geneva)
Rico Scagliola & Michael Meier (*1985 / *1982, work in Zurich)
Bertold Stallmach (*1984, works in Zurich)
Markus Weggenmann (*1953, works in Zurich)

TEN (founded in 2015, work in Zurich)

Critique, Publishing, Exhibition
Nicolas Brulhart & Sylvain Menétrey (*1983 / *1979, work in Bern, Geneva and Lausanne)

The jury for the Swiss Art Awards is chaired by Giovanni Carmine (curator, Zurich). Its members are Laura Arici (art historian, Zurich), Valentin Carron (artist, Fully), Victoria Easton (architect, Basel/Milan), Julie Enckell Julliard (curator, Lausanne), Anne-Julie Raccoursier (artist, Lausanne) und Anselm Stalder (artist, Basel). This year’s advisory experts are Oliver Lütjens and Anne Marie Wagner (architecture), as well as Yasmin Afschar, Marcel Bleuler and Francis Baudevin (visual arts).

Journal & publication
Interviews with the participants as well as further information about the awards and exhibition are published in the accompanying online journal swissartawards.ch. The Swiss Art Awards 2018 publication, scheduled to launch in autumn, will present the laureates’ works, jury statements and further texts on the award.

Tuesday-Saturday, 10am-7pm, Sunday 10am-6pm. Free admission.

For press enquiries please contact: media [​at​] swissartawards.ch

The Federal Office of Culture (Switzerland)
Share - Swiss Art Awards 2018
  • Share