Final deadline for applications 2019–21

Final deadline for applications 2019–21

Piet Zwart Institute

Photo: Michaela Lakova.

April 10, 2019
Final deadline for applications 2019–21

Final deadline (EU / Dutch applicants only): May 1, 2019
Piet Zwart Institute
Karel Doormanhof 45 & Wijnhaven 61
the Netherlands

Master Education in Arts, Master Fine Art, Master Interior Architecture: Research + Design, Master Lens-Based Media and Master Experimental Publishing

The Piet Zwart Institute admits candidates on a rolling basis from December 2018 to May 2019, until all positions in the cohorts are filled. May 1st is the final deadline for applications for the academic year 2019-2021 (for European and Dutch applicants only).

The Piet Zwart Institute houses the international master programmes of the Willem de Kooning Academy at Hogeschool Rotterdam. Named after the pioneering Dutch designer Piet Zwart, who worked experimentally across different media and contexts, our institute offers a rich combination of in-depth specialisation and interdisciplinary exchange in an intimate learning environment.

The programmes of the Piet Zwart Institute are located in the heart of Rotterdam’s city centre. While students and faculty come from across the globe, bringing with them a variety of cultural influences, there are also strong connections to the city, its complex history and dynamic urban environment.

We have four master programmes: Fine Art, Interior Architecture: Research + Design, Master Lens-Based Media, Master Experimental Publishing and the Master Education in Arts. All are founded on a shared interest in the complex social, cultural and political underpinnings of each discipline. Through a uniquely tailored curriculum combining collective learning, intensive individual tutorial support, practice-based research and theoretical inquiry, our programmes educate young professionals who have a critically reflective and imaginative approach to their work.

Exhibitions, symposia, conferences and publications expand our research beyond the confines of the academy, while simultaneously valuing speculative spaces for reflection and knowledge building that is made possible through the rigorous academic framework of the Piet Zwart Institute.

Teaching staff (see the website for detailed biographies of the teaching staff)
Fine Art: Vivian Sky Rehberg (Course Director, critic), Liesbeth Bik (artist), Kate Briggs (translator, writer), Bernd Krauß (artist), Mike Sperlinger (writer, curator), Jan Verwoert (theorist, critic), Nina Wakeford (artist and sociologist) and Katarina Zdjelar (artist)

Experimental Publishing: Aymeric Mansoux (Course Director, Associate Professor), Clara Balaguer (cultural worker, vernacular designer), Kate Briggs (translator, writer), Andre Castro (media artist), Michael Murtaugh (computer programmer), Steve Rushton (writer, artist), Marloes de Valk (artist, writer), Amy Suo Wu (Artist, designer)

Lens-Based Media: Simon Pummell (Course Director, filmmaker, Associate Professor), David Haines (artist, drawing, video), Ine Lamers (artist), Javier Lloret (artist, researcher), Barend Onneweer (independent visual effects and animation artist), Kate Briggs (translator, writer), Steve Rushton (writer, artist), Marloes de Valk (artist, writer)

Interior Architecture: Research + Design: Alex Suárez (Course Director, architect, educator), Andrea Bagnato (editor, researcher), Max Bruinsma (writer, critic, editorial design), Daphne Heemskerk (graphic designer), Ephraim Joris (architect, interiors), Olivier Otten (interaction designer), Selina Parr (designer), Lara Tolman (designer), Füsun Türetken (architect, visual artist), Fosco Lucarelli (Architect, professor and curator), Mariabruna Fabrizi (Acrhitect, professor and curator).

Education in Arts: Ingrid Commandeur (Course Director), Jolande Bosch (education and artistic research methods), Kate Brehme (museum education & public practices), Elizabeth Graham (museum education & collaborative practices), Prof. Dr. Frans-Willem Korsten (education philosophy, critical theory/pedagogy), Michelle Kasprzak ( transdisciplinary cultures/education), Barbara Mahlknecht (cultural researcher/art educator), Irina Shapiro (design education), Sjoerd Westbroek (secondary/higher art education), Renee Turner (higher art and design education).

Apply to the Piet Zwart Institute

Piet Zwart Institute
P.O. Box 1272
3000 BG Rotterdam
The Netherlands

RSVP for Final deadline for applications 2019–21
Piet Zwart Institute
April 10, 2019

Thank you for your RSVP.

Piet Zwart Institute will be in touch.


e-flux announcements are emailed press releases for art exhibitions from all over the world.

Agenda delivers news from galleries, art spaces, and publications, while Criticism publishes reviews of exhibitions and books.

Architecture announcements cover current architecture and design projects, symposia, exhibitions, and publications from all over the world.

Film announcements are newsletters about screenings, film festivals, and exhibitions of moving image.

Education announces academic employment opportunities, calls for applications, symposia, publications, exhibitions, and educational programs.

Sign up to receive information about events organized by e-flux at e-flux Screening Room, Bar Laika, or elsewhere.

I have read e-flux’s privacy policy and agree that e-flux may send me announcements to the email address entered above and that my data will be processed for this purpose in accordance with e-flux’s privacy policy*

Thank you for your interest in e-flux. Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.