Call for MFA applications and open studios

Call for MFA applications and open studios

Columbia University School of the Arts

Class of 2019 MFA Thesis Exhibition Opening at The Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Art Gallery, Lenfest Center for the Arts. Photo: Kai McBride

October 8, 2019
Call for MFA applications and open studios
Information session: November 10, 11am–1pm
Lenfest Center for the Arts
Open studios: November 10, 3–6pm
Prentis Hall, 632 W. 125th St.
Application deadline: January 15
Columbia University School of the Arts
615 West 129th Street
Lenfest Center for the Arts
New York, NY 10027

Applications are now being accepted for the MFA Visual Arts Program at Columbia University School of the Arts.

The Visual Arts Program attracts emerging artists of unusual promise from around the world. They join a vibrant community, working alongside an exceptional faculty at a world-renowned research institution in the global center that is New York City.

The Visual Arts Program is interdisciplinary and offers an MFA degree in Visual Arts rather than in one specific medium. The two-year studio program, taught by internationally celebrated artists, allows students to pursue drawing, installation, painting, performance, photography, printmaking, sculpture and video.

Sign up for the information session.

Visual Arts Faculty
Gregory Amenoff, Matthew Buckingham (Chair), Gabriel Camnitzer (2019–20), Susanna Coffey (2019–20), Renee Cox, (2019–20), Dana DeGiulio (2019–20), Jon Kessler, Nicola López, Miya Masaoka, Leeza Meksin, Aliza Nisenbaum, Shelly Silver, Sarah Sze, Rirkrit Tiravanija, Tomas Vu-Daniel

Mark Dion, David Humphrey, Michael Joo, Ralph Lemon, Suzanne McClelland, Rachelle Mozman, Matthew Ritchie, Kiki Smith, Rona Yefman, Craig Zammiello

Alumni include
Derrick Adams, Shadi Habib Allah, David Altmejd, Kamrooz Aram, Julieta Aranda, Uri Aran, Korakrit Arunanondchai, Guy Ben-Ner, Tamy Ben-Tor, Huma Bhabha, Dineo Bopape, Kerstin Braetsch, Matthew Brannon, Caitlin Cherry, Yve Laris Cohen, Ann Craven, Sue de Beer, Esteban Cabeza de Baca, Francesca DiMattio, Karel Funk, Barnaby Furnas, Chitra Ganesh, ector garcia, Tim Gardner, Cy Gavin, Allison Janae Hamilton, Ilana Harris-Babou, Josephine Halvorson, Marc Handelman, Hugh Hayden, Tim Hyde, Jamie Isenstein, Iman Issa, Anya Kielar, Matt Keegan, Fabienne Lasserre, Liz Magic Laser, Leigh Ledare, Tom McGrath, Yola Monakhov, Elizabeth Neel, Kambui Olujimi, Alyssa Pheobus, Sondra Perry, Eileen Quinlan, Lisi Raskin, Gilad Ratman, Rachel Rose, Mika Rottenberg, Heather Rowe, Georgia Sagri, Aki Sasamoto, Dana Schutz, Dasha Shishkin, Gedi Sibony, Gregory Parma Smith, Mika Tajima, Alison Elizabeth Taylor, Naama Tsabar, Banks Violette, Garth Weiser, Paula Wilson, Rona Yefman, Kevin Zucker

RSVP for Call for MFA applications and open studios
Columbia University School of the Arts
October 8, 2019

Thank you for your RSVP.

Columbia University School of the Arts will be in touch.


e-flux announcements are emailed press releases for art exhibitions from all over the world.

Agenda delivers news from galleries, art spaces, and publications, while Criticism publishes reviews of exhibitions and books.

Architecture announcements cover current architecture and design projects, symposia, exhibitions, and publications from all over the world.

Film announcements are newsletters about screenings, film festivals, and exhibitions of moving image.

Education announces academic employment opportunities, calls for applications, symposia, publications, exhibitions, and educational programs.

Sign up to receive information about events organized by e-flux at e-flux Screening Room, Bar Laika, or elsewhere.

I have read e-flux’s privacy policy and agree that e-flux may send me announcements to the email address entered above and that my data will be processed for this purpose in accordance with e-flux’s privacy policy*

Thank you for your interest in e-flux. Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.