2020 residents

2020 residents

La Becque Artist Residency

La Becque Artist Residency 2019. Photo: Julien Gremaud.

October 28, 2019
2020 residents
21 artists and collectives feature in Principal Residency Program 2020, while partnership residencies continue to develop
January 1–December 31, 2020
La Becque Artist Residency
Chemin de la Becque 1
CH-1814 La Tour-de-Peilz

Instagram / Facebook / Twitter

La Becque Artist Residency is pleased to announces its Principal Residency Program laureates for 2020.

No less than 21 residency projects, formulated by indivuals or collectives of artists, designers, musicians, and architects from 13 countries, will take shape in 2020 at La Becque, in the 3-month and 6-month formats offered by the Swiss institution’s Principal Residency Program. The selected residency projects were all picked on the strenghts of proposals developing original takes on the driving themes behind all residency programs at La Becque, namely the relationship between nature, the environment, and technology as seen through the prism of the arts. 

The profiles of 2020 residents Ignacio Acosta, Florencia Aspèe, Félicia Atkinson and Bartolomé Sanson (Shelter Press), Brandon Covington Sam-Sumana, COYOTE, D. Denenge Duyst-Akpem,  Caroline Etter and Laura Spozio, Adam Gibbons and Eva Wilson (“ ”), Gideonsson/Londré, Andreas Greiner, Voldemars Johansons, Dorota Gaweda and Egle Kulbokaite (Young Girl Reading Group), Virginie Laganière and Jean-Maxime Dufresne, Valle Medina and Benjamin Reynolds (Pa.LaC.E), Pierre Paulin, Florence Peake, Mathias Ringgenberg (PRICE), James Rushford, Yves Scherer and Broderick Shoemaker, Steven Pippin, and Andrew Norman Wilson, can now all be consulted on La Becque’s website. 

Principal Residency Program participants were be selected globally by a transdisciplinary jury of experts. The jury selecting 2020 residents was composed of percussionist Alexandre Babel (Berliner Ensemble, Eklekto Percussions), visual artist Latifa EchakhchJean-Paul Felley (curator and director of ECAV - the Ecole Cantonale d’Art du Valais), Sabine Himmelsbach (director, HEK—Haus für elektronische Künste, Basel), Elise Lammer (curator and art critic, Institut Kunst HGK FHNW, HEAD—Genève, SALTS Basel), Patrick de Rham (director, Arsenic Lausanne), and Stefano Stoll (director, Images Vevey), joined by Fondation Françoise Siegfried-Meier board member Tamara Jenny-Devrient and La Becque director Luc Meier. 

In 2020 La Becque will also pursue its partnership with the Swiss Arts Council Pro Helvetia, hosting Agustina Muñoz from Argentina and Mónica Naranjo Uribe (Colombia) during the first semester of the year as part of its involvement with Pro Helvetia’s South American exchange program, COINCIDENCIA.

The ECAL x La Becque partnership residency program developed in collaboration with ECAL/University of Art and Design Lausanne will see researchers in residence Mario de Vega and Simone C. Niquille come through La Becque during the first half of the year. Their successors for the 2020-2021 academic year will be announced at an ulterior date, while alumni residency laureates benefiting from one-month summer residencies at La Becque (EXECAL x La Becque program) will be announced in early 2020.

Further residency and event partneships with among others EDHEA / the Valais School of Art, the Montreux Jazz Artists Foundation, Bad Bonn / Bad Bonn Kilbi, and Festival IMAGES will feature in 2020 with details to be announced at a further date. Public programs at La Becque will continue at a sustained pace, notably with the second and third instalments of the Modern Nature: An Homage to Derek Jarman project, initiated with curator Elise Lammer.

Finally, La Becque will open its call for applications seeking participants in its 2021 Principal Residency Program in early March 2020. All information and forms pertaining to the call will be announced in due time and made available on La Becque’s website

RSVP for 2020 residents
La Becque Artist Residency
October 28, 2019

Thank you for your RSVP.

La Becque Artist Residency will be in touch.


e-flux announcements are emailed press releases for art exhibitions from all over the world.

Agenda delivers news from galleries, art spaces, and publications, while Criticism publishes reviews of exhibitions and books.

Architecture announcements cover current architecture and design projects, symposia, exhibitions, and publications from all over the world.

Film announcements are newsletters about screenings, film festivals, and exhibitions of moving image.

Education announces academic employment opportunities, calls for applications, symposia, publications, exhibitions, and educational programs.

Sign up to receive information about events organized by e-flux at e-flux Screening Room, Bar Laika, or elsewhere.

I have read e-flux’s privacy policy and agree that e-flux may send me announcements to the email address entered above and that my data will be processed for this purpose in accordance with e-flux’s privacy policy*

Thank you for your interest in e-flux. Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.