April 24, 2013 - Contemporary Art Festival Sesc_Videobrasil - 18th International Contemporary Art Festival Sesc_Videobrasil
April 24, 2013

18th International Contemporary Art Festival Sesc_Videobrasil

Design by Angela Detanico and Rafael Lain.

Videobrasil 30 years: 18th International Contemporary Art Festival Sesc_Videobrasil
November 5, 2013–February 2, 2014


At its 30th-anniversary edition in 2013, the International Contemporary Art Festival Sesc_Videobrasil becomes established as a landmark space for the dissemination and reflection on art from the geopolitical South of the world. Due from November 5, 2013, to February 2, 2014, the event includes the Southern Panoramas show—which will be part of a historical segment that will retrace the three decades of the Festival’s history this year—and other public programs that make up a veritable arena for investigation on the themes and the directions taken by art produced in Latin America, the Caribbean, Africa, Eastern Europe, the Middle East, Oceania, and Southeast Asia.

Open to all languages and formats, this edition of Southern Panoramas will feature pieces submitted during the call for entries (see shortlist below) and works from guest artists. The initiative further strengthens the propositions put forth by the board of curators, comprising Solange Farkas (Festival creator and Chief Curator), Eduardo de Jesus, Fernando Oliva, and Julia Rebouças.

Upon analyzing a universe of over two thousand projects submitted, and selecting roughly one hundred artists, the theme of otherness affirmed itself as a guiding concept—it is about investigating the power of the Other within the broad contemporary context, while suggesting at once distancing and approaching, and the curators have worked on both directions.

The concept unfolds into nuances such as new approaches to the nature-society clash; architecture and other spatialization experiences as regimes of representation; the geographical mobility that reinterprets territories and identities; the narrative disruptions that reveal the profound ambiguities of human conflicts; the memory in times of digital transit (and transitoriness); and two different aspects of image: the image that questions its own mediation as it rethinks the capturing mechanisms, and the radically media-oriented image of mass culture.

But this is just the first announcement from the 18th Festival. Details will be released soon about the board of curators and its project, the public programs that make up the Festival, the TV series that will air, guest artists, the trophy for the competitive show (traditionally an art object in and of itself), and much more. Subscribe to our newsletter and stay up to date.

The shortlist of artists selected from the call for entries (below) spans thirty-two countries (nine in Latin America, seven in Africa, five in the Middle East, five in Southeast Asia, four in Eastern Europe, and two in Oceania). Projects include installations, video installations, drawings, sculptures, paintings, artist books, and videos.

See the shortlist of artists selected from the call for entries below:

Akram Zaatari, Lebanon
Alexandre Brandão, Brazil
Ali Cherri, Lebanon
Amanda Melo, Brazil
Ana Prata, Brazil
Andrew de Freitas, New Zealand
Ayrson Heráclito, Brazil
Bakary Diallo, Mali
Basir Mahmood, Pakistan
Bita Razavi, Iran
Bridget Walker, Australia
Caetano Dias, Brazil
Cão – group, Brazil
Carlos Guzmán, Colombia
Carlos Mélo, Brazil
Charly Nijensohn, Argentina
Chico Dantas, Brazil
Christian Bermudez, Costa Rica
Clarissa Tossin, Brazil
Claudia Joskowicz, Bolivia
Coletivo Madeirista, Brazil
Daniel Escobar, Brazil
Daniel Jacoby, Peru
Daniel Steegmann-Mangrané, Spain/Brazil
Dor Guez, Israel
Em’kal Eyongakpa, Camaroon
Eneida Sanches, Brazil
Enrique Ramírez, Chile
Ezra Wube, Ethiopia
Federico Lamas, Argentina
Fernão Paim, Brazil
Flávia Ribeiro, Brazil
Gabriel Mascaro, Brazil
Gabriel Torggler, Brazil
Gabriela Golder, Argentina
Gianfranco Foschino, Chile
Gregg Smith, South Africa
Gui Mohallem, Brazil
Gusztáv Hámos, Hungary
Haig Aivazian, Lebanon
Hou Chien Cheng, Taiwan
Ip Yuk-Yiu, China
Irineu Rocha da Cruz, Cabo Verde
Iván Marino and Aya Eliav – duo, Israel and Argentina
Jacinto Astiazarán, Mexico
Jeanno Gaussi, Afganistan
João Loureiro, Brazil
Lais Myrrha, Brazil
Laura Huertas Millan, Colombia
Lenora de Barros, Brazil
Letícia Ramos, Brazil
Lorraine Heller-Nicholas, Australi
Lucas Bambozzi, Brazil
LucFosther Diop, Camaroon
Luiz de Abreu, Brazil
Luiz Roque, Brazil
Mahardika Yudha, Indonesia
Mahmoud Khaled, Egypt
Marcellvs L., Brazil
Maria Klabin, Brazil
Mariana Xavier, Brazil
Maurício Arango, Colombia
Maya Watanabe, Peru
Michel Zózimo, Brazil
Morgan Wong, China
Nazareno Rodrigues, Brazil
Nurit Sharett, Israel
Olivia McGilchrist, Jamaica
Omar Salomão, Brazil
Orit Ben-Shitrit, Israel
Pablo Lobato, Brazil
Pedro Motta, Brazil
Rafael Carneiro, Brazil
Rehema Chachage, Tanzania
Roberto Bellini, Brazil
Roberto Winter, Brazil
Rodrigo Bivar, Brazil
Rodrigo Garcia Dutra, Brazil
Rodrigo Sassi, Brazil
Roy Dib, Lebanon
Sebastian Diaz Morales, Argentina
Sherman Ong, Malaysia
Soft turns (Olejnik & Gorlitz), Poland
Tales Bedeschi, Brazil
TaoHui, China
Tatewaki Nio, Japan/Brazil
Teresa Berlinck, Brazil
Tiago Romagnani Silveira, Brazil
Tiécoura N’Daou, Mali
Vijai Patchineelam, Brazil
Virgínia de Medeiros, Brazil
Viviane Teixeira, Brazil
Vygandas Simbelis, Lithuania
Zafer Topaloglu, Turkey

The Festival is an accomplishment by Associação Cultural Videobrasil and Sesc-SP.

Contemporary Art Festival Sesc_Videobrasil
Share - 18th International Contemporary Art Festival Sesc_Videobrasil
  • Share
Click to subscribe to e-flux and be the first to receive the latest news on international exhibitions and all e-flux related announcements
Subscribe to e-flux
Be the first to receive the latest news on international exhibitions and all e-flux related announcements.
Subscribe to architecture
Explore the most recent content from e-flux architecture and urbanism
Subscribe to e-flux programs
Keep up-to-date on all upcoming talks, screenings, and exhibitions at e-flux in New York