October 5, 2012 - Yanghyun Foundation - Abraham Cruzvillegas
October 5, 2012

Abraham Cruzvillegas

The 2012 Yanghyun Prize: Abraham Cruzvillegas
12 October 2012

Main Auditorium
National Museum of Korea
Seobinggo-ro 137, Yongsan-gu
Seoul, Korea

Yanghyun Foundation
25–11 Yoido-dong, Youngdeungpo-gu
Seoul, Korea

T +82 2 3770 6730
info [​at​] yanghyun.org


The Yanghyun Foundation (Eunyoung Choi, Chief Director) is pleased to announce the Mexican artist Abraham Cruzvillegas as the laureate of the 2012 Yanghyun Prize.The Yanghyun Prize was established in 2008 and was the first international prize established by a Korean institution, with the aim of offering artists a global stage on which to exhibit their talents. It was always a long-standing wish of the late Mr. Sooho Cho, a well-known art lover, to discover and support talented artists.

The laureate of the 2012 Yanghyun Prize is awarded to Abraham Cruzvillegas by the jury consisting of Fumio Nanjo, the director of Mori Art Museum, and Philippe Vergne, the director of Dia Art Foundation. The laureate, Abraham Cruzvillegas, was born in Mexico City in 1968. Cruzvillegas’s work has been shown in the Contemporary Art Museum Houston, Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago, Redcat in Los Angeles, Tate Modern Gallery in London, Cove Park/ CCA Glasgow, Wattis Institute in San Francisco, the South London Gallery in London, the Centro Cultural Monte Hermoso in Spain, the New Museum in New York, the Museum of Modern Art in Oxford, Le Grand Café in Saint Nazaire, the Porn Film Festival in Berlin, and Media City Seoul, among others.

Cruzvillegas participated in the 5th Havana Biennial, 1994, the 25th Sao Paulo Biennial in 2002, the Venice Biennial 2003, the 1st Torino Triennale 2005, the Bienal de Cali, 2008 in Colombia, the 10th Havana Biennial 2009, and the 7th Bienal do Mercosul in Portoalegre, and Istanbul Biennial 2011. In 2012 he is part of dOCUMENTA 13 in Kassel, the 9th Gwangju Biennale, and the 9th Shanghai Biennale.

Former winners of the Yanghyun Prize have subsequently recognized as established artists in the international arts world. They are Cameron Jamie, the first winner of the prize in 2008, Isa Genzken in 2009, Jewyo Rhii in 2010 and Akram Zaatari in 2011. The winner is awarded a cash prize and is given the chance to exhibit their work at a world-renowned museum of choice within three years following the award. The proposition of such has been raising public awareness of the winners and ultimately presenting a more powerful motivation for creativity. It is the first international art prize in Korea that annually awards an artist and imposes no restrictions on the form of art, genre or nationality. For the sake of fairness and authenticity of the award, the jury members are changed every three years and are composed by globally renowned museum directors and curators.

For as the winner of the 2012 Yanghyun Prize Award.




The 2012 Yanghyun Prize: Abraham Cruzvillegas
Yanghyun Foundation
Share - Abraham Cruzvillegas
  • Share
Click to subscribe to e-flux and be the first to receive the latest news on international exhibitions and all e-flux related announcements
Subscribe to e-flux
Be the first to receive the latest news on international exhibitions and all e-flux related announcements.
Subscribe to architecture
Explore the most recent content from e-flux architecture and urbanism
Subscribe to e-flux programs
Keep up-to-date on all upcoming talks, screenings, and exhibitions at e-flux in New York