ROUNDTABLE announces participants

ROUNDTABLE announces participants

Gwangju Biennale

Joana Hadjithomas and Khalil Joreige, Circle of Confusion, 1997.
C-print, glue and mirror, 400 x 300 cm (3000 fragments, stamped and numbered).*

July 16, 2012

Announcing the 90 artists in ROUNDTABLE: The 9th Gwangju Biennale
September 7, 2012–November 11, 2012

The Gwangju Biennale Foundation
111 Biennale-ro, Buk-gu
Gwangju, Republic of Korea, 500-845

T +82(0)62 608 4114
F +82(0)62 608 4219

ROUNDTABLE is best understood as a series of overlapping modalities, rather than a unified polemic. Reflecting the diversity of its six Co-Artistic Directors—Nancy Adajania, Wassan Al-Khudhairi, Mami Kataoka, Sunjung Kim, Carol Yinghua Lu, and Alia Swastika—ROUNDTABLE is articulated by six subthemes: Logging In and Out of Collectivity /Re-visiting History /Transient Encounters /Intimacy, Autonomy and Anonymity /Back to the Individual Experience /Impact of Mobility on Space and Time. Its structure acknowledges the impossibility of unconditional collaboration and the potential for non-hierarchical exchange.

Drawn from over 44 countries, ROUNDTABLE’s participants are not delineated by any presumed geographic, thematic or material approach. Their work presents overlapping and contrary perspectives on ROUNDTABLE’s subthemes, exploring issues of isolation, migration, mass communication, and the relationship between group trauma, memory, and history, effectively expressing divergent riffs on a central hypernym. This is an intentional result of the Co-Artistic Directors’ ongoing conversations and the influence they have had on each other’s thinking, a quality that will likewise shape their approach to the exhibition’s conceptual and physical space.

ROUNDTABLE will feature 43 new commissions and 15 residencies—including many process-based installations and performances—as well as a series of Workstations and E-Journals.

The participants of ROUNDTABLE: The 9thGwangju Biennale
A Gentil Carioca [Botner e Pedro + Fabiano Gonper] (Brazil); Abraham Cruzvillegas (Mexico); Adam Broomberg + Oliver Chanarin (UK/South Africa); Agung Kurniawan (Indonesia); Ahn Kyuchul (South Korea); Aki Sasamoto (Japan/USA); Ala Younis (Palestine/Jordan); Allan Kaprow (USA); Ana Husman (Croatia); Andy Hope 1930 (Germany); Anri Sala (Albania/Germany); Benjamin Armstrong (Australia); Bibimbbap [Sang-hwa Park, Han-byul Jang, Mae-lee Lee, Han-yeol Kim, Un Kang] (South Korea); Boris Groys (Germany); CAMP (India); Cho Hyun-Tack (South Korea); Choi Mi-Yeon (South Korea); Chosil Kil (South Korea); Chris Marker (France); Chto delat? /What is to be done? (Russia); Craig Walsh + Hiromi Tango (Australia/Japan); Dane Mitchell (New Zealand/Germany); Darinka Pop-Mitic (Serbia); Delaine Le Bas (UK); Dick Verdult (Netherlands); Do Ho Suh (South Korea); Fayçal Baghriche (Algeria); Fouad Elkoury (France/Lebanon); Gulnara Kasmalieva + Muratbek Djumaliev + ArtEast School for Contemporary Art, Bishkek (Kyrgyzstan); Han Dong (China); Haroon Mirza (UK); James Cahill (USA); Jangarh Singh Shyam (India); Jenny Holzer (USA); Jeong-lok LEE (South Korea); Jihae Hwang (South Korea); Joana Hadjithomas + Khalil; Joreige (Lebanon); Josef Dabernig (Austria); Julia Dault (Canada/USA); Julieta Aranda + Anton Vidokle (Mexico/Russia); Jun Yang (China/Austria); Jung Yoonsuk (South Korea); Juyeon Kim (South Korea); Kelly Schacht (Belgium); Kim Beom (South Korea); Kimsooja (South Korea); Laurent Grasso (France); Li Fuchun (China); Li Ran (China); Lv Yue (China); Magnus Bärtås (Sweden); Maha Maamoun (Egypt); Maki Toshima (Japan); Malak Helmy (Egypt); Mark Bradford (USA); Michael Joo (USA); Mônika Nador (Brazil); MOON Kyungwon + JEON Joonho (South Korea); Motoyuki Shitamichi (Japan); Nástio Mosquito (Angola); NOH Suntag (South Korea); Pages (Iran); Pedro Reyes (Mexico); Poklong Anading (Philippines); Porntaweesak Rimsakul (Thailand); Rasheed Araeen (UK); Rim Dong Sik (South Korea); Rirkrit Tiravanija (Thailand); Royce NG (Hong Kong/Australia) in collaboration with Zebadish Arrington, Suhuu Goh + Soichiro Mitsuya (USA/South Korea/Japan); Sara Nuytemans (Belgium); Scott Eady (New Zealand); Sejla Kameric (Bosnia-Herzegovina); Sheba Chhachhi (India); Shuruq Harb (Palestine); Simon Fujiwara (UK); Slavs and Tatars (Morocco/Lebanon/Romania/France); Sophia Al-Maria (Qatar); Tintin Wulia (Indonesia); Tobias Rehberger (Germany); Tu Wei-Cheng (Taiwan); U Sunok (South Korea); Varda Caivano (Argentina); Vertical Submarine (Singapore); Wael Shawky (Egypt); West Eastern Divan Orchestra (Israel/Palestine/Arab World); Wolfgang Laib (Germany); Wu Tsang (USA); Xijing Men [Chen Shaoxiong, Gimhongsok, Tsuyoshi Ozawa] (China/South Korea/Japan); xurban_collective [Guven; Incirlioglu + Hakan Topal] (Turkey); Yerbossyn Meldibekov (Kazakhstan)

For more information, visit

Media contact
For additional information, images, or to request an interview, please contact:
Public Relations Department: Alice S. Kim
T +82(0)62 608 4222 / F +82(0)62 608 4229 /

The Gwangju Biennale looks forward to welcoming press, curators, and related professionals. The Press and Professional Accreditation Request Form is available by emailing:

*Image above:
Joana Hadjithomas and Khalil Joreige, Circle of Confusion, 1997. C-print, glue and mirror, 400 x 300 cm (3000 fragments, stamped and numbered).* Courtesy of the artists, The Third Line (Dubai), CRG Gallery (New York), and In situ Fabienne Leclerc (Paris).

ROUNDTABLE: The 9th Gwangju Biennale announces participants
RSVP for ROUNDTABLE announces participants
Gwangju Biennale
July 16, 2012

Thank you for your RSVP.

Gwangju Biennale will be in touch.

I have read e-flux’s privacy policy and agree that e-flux may send me announcements to the email address entered above and that my data will be processed for this purpose in accordance with e-flux’s privacy policy*

Thank you for subscribing to e-flux

Feel free to subscribe to additional content from the e-flux platform.