May 20, 2011 - Contemporary Art Festival Sesc_Videobrasil - The artists selected for the Southern Panoramas show
May 20, 2011

The artists selected for the Southern Panoramas show

Mihai Grecu, “Coagulate,” 2008.
Single channel video.

The 17th International Festival of Contemporary Art SESC_Videobrasil announces the artists selected for the Southern Panoramas show

Akram Zaatari, Galina Myznikova and Sergey Provorov, Gregg Smith, Marcello Mercado, Sebastian Diaz Morales, Shaun Gladwell, Cinthia Marcelle, Eder Santos, Gisela Motta and Leandro Lima, Jonathas de Andrade, Marcellvs L. and Tatiana Blass are among the 98 artists selected for the Southern Panoramas show at the 17th International Festival of Contemporary Art SESC_Videobrasil. Dispensing for the first time with restrictions on eligible forms of artistic manifestation, the show opens on September 30 in São Paulo.

Featuring video, performances, installations, objects, publications, paintings, photography and other artistic forms, Southern Panoramas maps the full extent of contemporary production throughout the geopolitical south—Latin America, Africa, Eastern Europe, the Middle East and Asia. According to the general curator, Solange Farkas, the Festival aims to create a key role for artistic output from its target geopolitical axis.

Southern Panoramas will confer a cash prize and eight residency prizes for locations in Brazil and abroad.

This edition’s participants were chosen from the 1,295 submissions by an assessment panel formed by the curators Fernando Oliva and Marcio Harum and the artist Felipe Cohen. The number of submissions was the highest ever received by the Festival, with greater Eastern European, Asian and Middle Eastern presence than at earlier editions.

“The number of submissions has grown with each edition,” says Solange Farkas. “What is most extraordinary is the growth in languages and the representation of regions from the South, which really allows us to draw a panorama of contemporary production across the axis.”

In addition to the competitive show, the 17th SESC_Videobrasil International Contemporary Art Festival will present Your Body of Work, the first individual exhibition by the Danish artist Olafur Eliasson to be held in Latin America.

The Festival is a joint production by SESC ( and Associação Cultural Videobrasil ( and will be held from September 2011 through to January 2012 at SESC Pompeia, SESC Belenzinho and the Pinacoteca do Estado, in São Paulo.

Below is a full list of the selected artists:

Adriano Costa (Brazil)
Akram Zaatari (Lebanon)
Alexandre B (Brazil)
Ali Cherri (Lebanon)
Ana Prata (Brazil)
Andre Favilla (Brazil)
Andrei Rubina Thomaz (Brazil)
Angelica Mesiti (Australia)
Anna Baumgart (Poland)
Aya Eliav, Ofir Feldman (Israel)
Ayrson Heráclito (Brazil)
Bakary Diallo (Mali)
Bao lixin (China)
Basma Alsharif (Kuwait)
Bogdan Perzynski (Poland)
Bouchra Khalili (Morocco)
Carla Zaccagnini (Argentina/ Brazil)
Carlos Adriano (Brazil)
Carlosmagno Rodrigues and Alonso Pafyeze (Brazil)
Chico Dantas (Brazil)
Christian Delgado, Nicolás Testoni (Argentina)
Cinthia Marcelle (Brazil)
Claudia Joskowicz (Bolivia)
Cristiano Lenhardt (Brazil)
Damir Ocko (Croatia)
Dan Boord, Luis Valdovino (Argentina/USA)
Dan Halter (Zimbabwe)
Daniel Salamanca (Colombia)
Danillo Barata (Brazil)
Deyson Gilbert Silva e Sousa (Brazil)
Dirceu Maués (Brazil)
Dor Guez (Israel)
E. S. Mayorga (Mexico)
Eder Santos (Brazil)
Edwin Sanchez (Colombia)
Fabiano Gonper (Brazil)
Federico Lamas (Argentina)
Felipe Barros (Brazil)
Felipe Bittencourt (Brazil)
Gabriel Mascaro (Brazil)
Galina Myznikova, Sergey Provorov (Russia)
Gianfranco Foschino (Chile)
Gisela Motta and Leandro Lima (Brazil)
Gregg Smith (South Africa)
HeeWon Lee (South Korea)
Ian Haig (Australia)
Ilan Waisberg (Brazil)
Iván Marino (Argentina)
Jonathas de Andrade (Brazil)
José Villalobos Romero (Mexico)
Laerte Ramos (Brazil)
Lara Arellano (Argentina)
Leandro Cardoso (Brazil)
Liu Wei (China)
Lucia Mindlin Loeb (Brazil)
Luciana Ohira, Sergio Bonilha (Brazil)
Luis F. Ramirez Celis (Colombia)
Luiz Roque (Brazil)
Marcello Mercado (Argentina)
Marcellvs L. (Brazil)
Marcia Vaitsman (Brazil)
Marcio Shimabukuro (Brazil)
Marek Ranis (Poland)
Maya Watanabe (Peru)
Merilyn Fairskye (Australia)
Michel Groisman (Brazil)
Mihai Grecu (Romania)
Milton Machado (Brazil)
Moran Shavit (Israel)
Natasha Mendonça (India)
Nazareno (Brazil)
Nicola Morton (Australia)
Nurit Sharett (Israel)
Orit Ben-Shitrit (Israel)
Pablo Lobato (Brazil)
Paula Garcia (Brazil)
Petrina Hicks (Australia)
Rafael Urban (Brazil)
Ricardo Carioba (Brazil)
Roberto Winter (Brazil)
Roderick Steel (Brazil)
Rodrigo Bivar (Brazil)
Rolando Vargas (Colombia)
Ronaldo Miranda (Brazil)
Sarah Jane Gorlitz, Wojciech Olejnik (Poland, Canada)
Sebastian Diaz Morales (Argentina)
Shaun Gladwell (Australia)
Sherman Ong (Malaysia)
Taryn Takahashi (Peru)
Tatiana Blass (Brazil)
Tenzin Phuntsog (India)
Theo Craveiro (Brazil)
Tiago Romagnani Silveira (Brazil)
Vinicius Duarte (Brazil)
Wagner Malta Tavares (Brazil)
Wagner Morales (Brazil)
Ximena Velásquez Sánchez (Colombia)
Zafer Topaloglu (Turkey)

The artists selected for the Southern Panoramas show
Contemporary Art Festival Sesc_Videobrasil
Share - The artists selected for the Southern Panoramas show
  • Share
Click to subscribe to e-flux and be the first to receive the latest news on international exhibitions and all e-flux related announcements
Subscribe to e-flux
Be the first to receive the latest news on international exhibitions and all e-flux related announcements.
Subscribe to architecture
Explore the most recent content from e-flux architecture and urbanism
Subscribe to e-flux programs
Keep up-to-date on all upcoming talks, screenings, and exhibitions at e-flux in New York