April 20, 2011 - Sobey Art Award - Long list for 2011
April 20, 2011

Long list for 2011

Long list for 2011

The Art Gallery of Nova Scotia and the Sobey Art Foundation are pleased to announce the long list for the 2011 Sobey Art Award, Canada’s pre-eminent prize for contemporary Canadian art. Following a three-month nomination process, the Curatorial Panel has announced the 25 artists vying for this year’s Award.

“The Sobey Art Award offers a wonderful opportunity for dialogue about the currents in Canadian contemporary Art. From the diversity of practice and place in this year’s longlist we can see how vibrant Canada’s arts community truly is. ”
—Sarah Fillmore, Chief Curator, Art Gallery of Nova Scotia and Curator, Sobey Art Award.

The 2011 Long List


Zeke Moores
Kym Greeley
John Haney
Michael Flaherty
Becka Viau

Jérôme Havre
Chris Kline
Emmanuel Licha
Nadia Myre
Manon de Pauw

Aleesa Cohene
Christian Giroux and Daniel Young
Derek Sullivan
Gareth Long
Josh Thorpe

Prairies and the North:
Denton Fredrickson
Sarah Anne Johnson
Dave and Jenn
Wally Dion
Dominique Rey

West Coast:
Sonja Ahlers
James Nizam
Helen Reed
Charles Stankievech
Joseph Tisiga

The shortlist for the 2011 Sobey Art Award will be announced in May 2011.

Selected work by the shortlisted artists will be featured in an exhibition at the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia, on view from September 17, 2011 to January 8, 2012. The winner will be announced during a Gala event at the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia on October 13, 2011.

The 2011 Sobey Art Award Curatorial Panel consists of:
Bruce Johnson, Curator at the Rooms Provincial Art Gallery
Gaëtane Verna, Director and Chief Curator, Musée d’art de Joliette
Marnie Fleming, Curator of Contemporary Art, Oakville Art Galleries
Ryan Doherty, Curator, Southern Alberta Art Gallery
Mary Bradshaw, Gallery Director, Yukon Arts Centre

About The Sobey Art Award
The Sobey Art Award, Canada’s pre-eminent award for contemporary Canadian art, was created in 2002 by the Sobey Art Foundation. It is an annual prize given to an artist under 40 who has exhibited in a public or commercial art gallery within 18 months of being nominated. A total of 70,000 CAD in prize money is awarded annually; 50,000 CAD to the winner and 5,000 CAD to the other four finalists. Since its inception, the Sobey Art Award and accompanying exhibition have been organized and administered by the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia.

The Sobey Art Award acknowledges the important contributions of our exclusive media partner Bravo.

About Bravo!
Bravo! is an oasis in the television landscape where viewers make a regular appointment with the arts. Whether it’s a classic opera, an art documentary, a performance in the Concert Hall, or a cutting-edge film, Bravo! gives viewers an opportunity for enriching and thought-provoking experiences. Make an appointment with the arts each night on Bravo!. Bravo! is owned by CTV Limited, a division of CTV globemedia, Canada’s premier multi-media company.

For information:
Bernard Doucet | Director of Development | Art Gallery of Nova Scotia
902 424 0073

Long list for 2011
Sobey Art Award
Share - Long list for 2011
  • Share
Click to subscribe to e-flux and be the first to receive the latest news on international exhibitions and all e-flux related announcements
Subscribe to e-flux
Be the first to receive the latest news on international exhibitions and all e-flux related announcements.
Subscribe to architecture
Explore the most recent content from e-flux architecture and urbanism
Subscribe to e-flux programs
Keep up-to-date on all upcoming talks, screenings, and exhibitions at e-flux in New York