The 2010 Yanghyun Prize: Jewyo Rhii

The 2010 Yanghyun Prize: Jewyo Rhii

Yanghyun Foundation

October 8, 2010

Korean artist Jewyo Rhii is the winner of the 2010 Yanghyun Prize Award.
8 October 2010

Lecture Hall, Seoul Museum of History
50, Saemunan-gil, Jongno-gu
Seoul 110-062, South Korea
25-11 Yoido-dong, Youngdeungpo-gu,
Seoul, Korea
T +82 (0)2 3770 6730
info [​at​]

The Yanghyun Foundation (Eun Young Choi, Chief Director), announced Korean artist Jewyo Rhii as the winner of the 2010 Yanghyun Prize Award. The award ceremony was held in the lecture hall of the Seoul Museum of History, on October 8, 2010. Jewyo Rhii is the first of Korean artist to be awarded the Yanghyun Prize by the jury consisting of, Kasper König, the director of the Ludwig Museum, and Kathy Halbreich, the associate director of MOMA. The ceremony was accompanied by an open studio, Night Studio, in which Jewyo Rhii opened her residential studio to the public from 7th to 15th of October.

Jewyo Rhii, the winner of 2010 Yanghyun Prize, was born in Seoul, Korea, in 1972. She studied at Ewha Womans University in Seoul, the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia, the Chelsea College of Art and Design in London and the Rijks Akademie in Amsterdam. Rhii’s most recent solo exhibitions include NIGHT STUDIO, Itaewon, Seoul (2010), LODGED: Ursula Walbrol Gallery, Dusseldorf, Germany (2010) and MUSCLE ACHES: ARRIVALS, Doosan Gallery, New York, USA (2009). Some of the most recent group exhibitions in which she participated include MEDIA CITY SEOUL, Korea (2010), EVERYDAY MIRACLE (EXTENDED), REDCAT, Los Angeles (2009), ON THE ROAD & INSERTATION, the 7th Gwangju Biennale, Gwangju, Korea (2008) etc. In addition the art books,”Of CARTS AND ON” (2009, Samuso), “TEN YEARS, PLEASE” (2008, Darun Books), “TWO” (2005), “WARMING AND HUMIDIFYING” (2002) and “ONCE YOU LIE DOWN” (2000), and the monograph, “JEWYO RHII” (2008, Samuso), have been published.

Eun Young Choi, Chief Director of the Yanghyun Foundation, said, “The Yanghyun Prize Awards is even more special this year. We are proud to present Jewyo Rhii, a promising artist and the first Korean to receive the award. I believe the prize-winning of this domestic artist will create more opportunities for Korean art lovers to enjoy the works of talented local artists. I also believe that it will contribute to boosting exchanges between the Korean and international art worlds.”

A member of the jury that deliberated over the Yanghyun Prize, Kathy Halbreich, the associate director of MOMA stated, “Jewyo Rhii’s work first impressed me in the Istanbul Biennale 2007. I have since visited with her twice in Seoul. Her fierce yet extremely sensitive and emotionally fragile personality continues to intrigue me as these qualities so beautifully shape and inhabit her work in video, drawing, sculpture and performance.”

In 2008, the first winner of the prize was Jamie Cameron, who was born in Los Angeles, California, in 1969. In 2009, Isa Genzken, born in Bad Oldesloe, Germany, in 1948, was awarded the 2nd Yanghyun Prize. The Yanghyun Prize offers one of the world’s best artist support systems. The winner is awarded 100,000,000 KRW in prize money and is given the chance to exhibit their work at a world renowned museum of choice within three years following the award. The proposition of such has been raising public awareness of the winners and ultimately presenting a more powerful motivation for creativity. It is the first international art award in Korea that annually awards an artist and imposes no restrictions on the form of art, genre or nationality. For the sake of fairness and authenticity of the award, the jury members are changed every three years and are composed by globally renowned museum directors and curators.

About the Yanghyun Prize

The Yanghyun Prize was established in 2008 and was the first international prize established by a Korean institution, with the aim of offering brilliant artists a global stage on which to exhibit their talents. It was always a long-standing wish of the late Mr. Sooho Cho, a well-known art lover, to discover and sponsor talented artists. The Yanghyun Prize exemplifies sharing and contribution, the core philosophy of the Yanghyun Foundation, and is only awarded after submitted works have been carefully reviewed by a judging committee composed of director-level curators from world-famous museums. The Yanghyun Prize awards the winner not only a cash prize of KRW 100,000,000 but also provides a practical and innovative support system that includes allowing the winner to stage an exhibition of their work, within three years of receiving the award, in a world renowned museum of their choice.

For further information contact: Joo-Ryun Eun (

Yanghyun Foundation

RSVP for The 2010 Yanghyun Prize: Jewyo Rhii
Yanghyun Foundation
October 8, 2010

Thank you for your RSVP.

Yanghyun Foundation will be in touch.


e-flux announcements are emailed press releases for art exhibitions from all over the world.

Agenda delivers news from galleries, art spaces, and publications, while Criticism publishes reviews of exhibitions and books.

Architecture announcements cover current architecture and design projects, symposia, exhibitions, and publications from all over the world.

Film announcements are newsletters about screenings, film festivals, and exhibitions of moving image.

Education announces academic employment opportunities, calls for applications, symposia, publications, exhibitions, and educational programs.

Sign up to receive information about events organized by e-flux at e-flux Screening Room, Bar Laika, or elsewhere.

I have read e-flux’s privacy policy and agree that e-flux may send me announcements to the email address entered above and that my data will be processed for this purpose in accordance with e-flux’s privacy policy*

Thank you for your interest in e-flux. Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.