July 13, 2010 - Espai d’art contemporani de Castelló (EACC) - 5x5Castello2010
July 13, 2010


Premi Internacional d’art
Contemporani Diputació de Castelló

16 July – 26 September 2010

July 16, 8 pm
Prim s/n 12003. Spain
Telephone: + 34 964 72 35 40
Fax: + 34 964 26 07 71


5x5Castelló2010. Premi Internacional d’Art Contemporani Diputació de Castelló is back again at Espai d’art contemporani de Castelló. This new edition will be a further step in consolidating the reputation of this international contemporary art prize in the wider art world.

5x5Castelló2010 is an exhibition project created by EACC with the goal of forging bonds and dialogue between different generations of artists. EACC is the ideal choice of site as the mandate of this prize fits in to perfection with the rest of the challenging risk-taking projects held at the art centre throughout the year.

The selection process is divided into three consecutive yet interconnected phases conceived to ensure the prize’s demanding standards of quality.

The first stage consisted of establishing contact with five artists, plenty worldwide renown, to whom it was entrusted, in a disinterested and free way, the task of proposing a list of other five contemporary artists which, according their criteria, were developing an artistic work of obvious creativity and more than enough creative risk. For the current edition this first group was formed by the following names: Marina Abramovic, Eija-Liisa Ahtila, John Baldessari, Esther Ferrer and Antoni Muntadas.

Once the proposal was accepted by the latter and the different lists were obtained, the second stage of the project started. In this stage, it was established contact with each one of the artists registered in the different lists.

It was explained to all of them both the criteria and intentions of the competition and the name of the artist that considered the merits of their work as essential to take part in the announcement.

The third stage results in the carrying out of an exhibition that entitled: 5x5Castelló2010. Premi Internacional d´art contemporani Diputació de Castelló that will take place in the current edition from 16th July to 26th September and which central venue will be the EACC.

The artists participating in this edition are: Eugènia Balcells, Davide Balliano, Ricardo Basbaum, Joshua Callaghan, Alejandro Cesarco, Anne-Marie Cornu, Nikhil Chopra, Marcelline Delbecq, Thea Djordjadze, Omer Fast, Terike Haapoja, Terence Koh, Rogelio López Cuenca, David Maljkovic, Pascale Marthine Tayou, Eva and Franco Mattes, Michèle Métail, Hiroharu Mori, Ana Navarrete, Tarja Pitkänen-Walter, Marjetica Potrč, Grethell Rasúa Fariñas, Analia Saban, Roi Vaara, Nico Vascellari.

In a parallel way, the EACC direction will announce the setting-up of a jury mainly represented by art critics or museum directors that will be in charge of awarding the prize. The decision of the jury will be known on September 24th.

It has to be emphasized the intention of the participants institutions of generating through the award winners works along the consecutive editions, a collection of contemporary art that will be established with the time as a patrimony of unquestionable interest.

Espai d'art contemporani de Castelló

Espai d’art contemporani de Castelló (EACC)
Share - 5x5Castello2010
  • Share