November 12, 2009 - New Museum - Ordway Prize
November 12, 2009

Ordway Prize

Finalists for 100,000 USD Ordway Prize Announced by Creative Link for the Arts and New Museum

Creative Link for the Arts and the New Museum have announced the six finalists for the Ordway Prize, which is given to a Curator/Arts Writer and an Artist.

The two winners will each receive an unrestricted cash prize of 100,000 USD. Now in its third cycle, the Ordway Prize is the only unrestricted international award of this caliber that recognizes a Curator/Arts Writer and is also one of the most generous awards given to a contemporary Artist.

Candidates for the Ordway Prize are identified through an anonymous nomination process of submissions drawn from a global pool of curators, writers, artists, and museum directors, led by Jennifer McSweeney, Director of Creative Link for the Arts, and Richard Flood, Chief Curator at the New Museum. A jury composed of leading arts professionals will select the two Ordway Prize recipients. The Ordway Prize winners will be announced in early 2010.

Curator/Arts Writer Finalists
Sabine Breitwieser (b. 1962, Austria); Hou Hanru (b.1963, China); and Hamza Walker (b. 1966, United States).

Artist Finalists
Tania Bruguera (b.1968, Cuba); William Pope.L (b.1955, United States); and Artur Żmijewski (b. 1966, Poland).

The Ordway Prize was created in 2005, and was named for the naturalist, philanthropist, and arts patron Katherine Ordway. The prize acknowledges the contributions of a Curator/Arts Writer and an Artist whose work has had significant impact on the field of contemporary art, but who has yet to receive broad public recognition. Finalists for the Ordway Prize are midcareer talents between the ages of forty and sixty-five, with a developed body of work extending over a minimum of fifteen years.

Past Ordway Prize recipients have included: Curator/Arts Writer Ralph Rugoff and Artist Doris Salcedo (2006); and Curator/Arts Writer James Elaine and Artist Cildo Meireles (2008).

“I am inspired by the short list of Curator/Arts Writers and Artists as they represent such a rich cross section of talents working today. This year more than ever, I find it incredibly valuable to provide this type of support,” said Jennifer McSweeney, Director of Creative Link for the Arts.

“The Ordway Prize is singular in shining a light on substantial yet under recognized creativity and contributions to the field. We are delighted to participate in and host this prestigious award,” said Lisa Phillips, Toby Devan Lewis Director, New Museum.

Creative Link for the Arts is a privately funded nonprofit organization dedicated to facilitating partnership in philanthropy and forging innovative relationships between art institutions, nonprofits, corporations, and philanthropists interested in supporting the arts and creating a cultural legacy.

Founded in 1977, the New Museum is a leading destination for new art and new ideas. It is Manhattan’s only dedicated contemporary art museum and is respected internationally for the adventurousness and global scope of its curatorial program. For more information, visit .

New Museum

New Museum
Share - Ordway Prize
  • Share