August 31, 2009 - Hamburger Bahnhof - Museum für Gegenwart - Berlin - DIE KUNST IST SUPER!
August 31, 2009


September 5, 2009 – February 14, 2010

Opening: Friday, September 4,
2009, 8pm

Invalidenstrasse 50 – 51
10557 Berlin

Die Kunst ist super! (Art is super!) is the title under which the Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart is showing a new presentation of works from its collections. In line with the motto “Die Kunst ist super!” proclaimed by Udo Kittelmann, this presentation is one of the most important steps on the path to the future positioning of the Hamburger Bahnhof under the new director of the Nationalgalerie. Spanning some 10,000 square meters, the exhibition uses thematic, monographic and motivic constellations, surprising dialogues and individual appearances rich in associations to cast works from the Nationalgalerie, the Marx Collection and the Friedrich Christian Flick Collection, as well as the Marzona Collection in Hamburger Bahnhof in a new light.

In an age that has seen supposedly stable systems of values collapse into crisis, their underlying instability laid bare, this new exhibition at the Hamburger Bahnhof presents art as a dependable variable. In all its flexibility and complexity, its creation of fictions and disillusionment of the same, whichever way you look at it: Art is super!

Presented artists are: Absalon, Richard Artschwager, Matthew Barney, Georg Baselitz, Georg Brecht, Joseph Beuys, Lee Bontecou, Marcel Broodthaers, Günther Brus, Salvador Dalí, Gino de Dominicis, Marcel Duchamp, Walker Evans, Lyonel Feiniger, Hans-Peter Feldmann, Dan Flavin, Peter Fischli & David Weiss, Lucio Fontana, Jochen Alexander Freydank, Isa Genzken, Wolfgang Tillmans, Franz Gertsch, Jack Goldstein, Rodney Graham, Philipp Jakob Hackert, Duane Hanson, Carsten Höller, Donald Judd, Allan Kaprow, Anselm Kiefer, Martin Kippenberger, Konrad Klapheck, Jeff Koons, Robert Kusmirowski, Sol LeWitt, Gordon Matta-Clark, Mario Merz, Paul McCarthy, John McCracken, Otto Mühl, Bruce Nauman, Helmut Newton, Roman Ondák, Nam June Paik, Mark Quinn, Robert Rauschenberg, Daniel Richter, Pipilotti Rist, Gerd Rohling, Dieter Roth, Thomas Ruff, Cindy Sherman, Roman Signer, Robert Smithson, Daniel Spoerri, Sturtevant, Thomas Struth, Hans Jürgen Syberberg, Cy Twombly, Wolf Vostell, Andy Warhol, Lawrence Weiner, John Wesley, Franz West, Otto Zitko, plaster casts of celebrated artworks and death masks from the Gipsformerei (Replica Workshop) of the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, and models of various insects by Alfred Keller from the Museum für Naturkunde (Natural History Museum) in Berlin.

Invalidenstrasse 50 – 51, 10557 Berlin

Opening Hours:
Tue-Fr, 10 – 6 pm
Sat, 11 – 8 pm
Sun, 11 – 6 pm
Closed Monday

Tel. 030 – 3978 3411
Fax. 030 – 3978 3413

U-Bahn U6 (Zinnowitzer Straße)
S-Bahn S3, S5, S7, S75, S9 (Hauptbahnhof)
Tram M6, M8, 12 (Zinnowitzer Straße)
Bus M41, M85, TXL (Hauptbahnhof); 120, 123, 147, 240, 245 (Invalidenpark)

Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin

Hamburger Bahnhof - Museum für Gegenwart - Berlin
  • Share
Click to subscribe to e-flux and be the first to receive the latest news on international exhibitions and all e-flux related announcements
Subscribe to e-flux
Be the first to receive the latest news on international exhibitions and all e-flux related announcements.
Subscribe to architecture
Explore the most recent content from e-flux architecture and urbanism
Subscribe to e-flux programs
Keep up-to-date on all upcoming talks, screenings, and exhibitions at e-flux in New York