April 27, 2005 - Omi International Arts Center - Monday May 2nd, 2005
April 27, 2005

Monday May 2nd, 2005

Francis J. Greenburger Awards/2005
Monday May 2nd, 2005, 6 - 8 pm

George Condo
Bruce Conner
John Lees
Stephen Mueller
James Romberger

New Museum of Contemporary Art
556 West 22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

The public is invited to attend the presentation of the Francis J. Greenburger Awards/2005, presented by Art Omi International Arts Center. The award ceremony and reception will be held on Monday, May 2nd 2005 from 6 to 8 pm at the New Museum of Contemporary Art, 556 West 22ndStreet in New York City. A reserved dinner will follow the event. (For dinner reservations, please call 212-206 6060 or 212- 206 6061)

In his introduction to the Awards catalogue, Francis J. Greenburger writes:
“My goal in awarding the Greenburger Prize has been to identify and celebrate artists whom knowledgeable people from the art world know to be of extraordinary merit, but who for one reason or another have not been fully recognized by the world at large.”

Five jurors (an artist, an art historian or critic, a collector, a gallerist, and a museum director or curator) chosen for their outstanding reputations were invited to select artists from their own experience who they feel epitomize the philosophy of the award.

This year, the awards, consisting of a cash prize of $10,000 for each award recipient, will be presented to the following artists:
George Condo, selected by collectors Don and Mera Rubell
Bruce Conner, selected by Lisa Phillips, Henry Luce III Director, New Museum of Contemporary Art
John Lees, selected by gallerist Betty Cuningham Stephen Mueller, selected by artist Pat Steir
James Romberger, selected by critic Walter Robinson, Editor-In-Chief, artnet Magazine

Francis J. Greenburger, a New York real estate developer, is the founder and chairman of Art Omi International Arts Center, a multi-disciplinary residency program for artists, writers, musicians, and dancers from around the world, and The Fields Sculpture Park in Columbia County, New York. The prize was awarded four times from 1986 through 1992. After a hiatus during Art Omi International Arts Center’s formative years, the Francis J. Greenburger Awards were resumed in 2001 and have become a biannual event. Past recipients and jurors have been in 2003: Robert Bechtle/Barbara Gladstone; Lee Bontecou/Ann Philbin; Kazuko Miyamoto/Leon Golub; Dorothea Rockburne/Michael Brenson; Joe Zucker/Martin Z. Margulies and in 2001: Jeremy Gilbert-Rolfe/Bonnie Clearwater; Mark Greenwold/Chuck Close; Albert York/Werner H. Kramarsky; Sven Lukin/John Weber; Nancy Haynes/Lilly Wei.

An illustrated catalogue with texts by Betty Cuningham, Lisa Phillips, Walter Robinson, Don and Mera Rubell and Pat Steir is available upon request.
The awards are funded and supported by the Francis J. Greenburger Foundation.

For further information please contact:

Pamela Auchincloss
Arts Management
(212) 727-2845


Art Omi International Arts Center
(212) 206-6060 or (212) 206-6061

Omi International Arts Center
Share - Monday May 2nd, 2005
  • Share
Click to subscribe to e-flux and be the first to receive the latest news on international exhibitions and all e-flux related announcements
Subscribe to e-flux
Be the first to receive the latest news on international exhibitions and all e-flux related announcements.
Subscribe to architecture
Explore the most recent content from e-flux architecture and urbanism
Subscribe to e-flux programs
Keep up-to-date on all upcoming talks, screenings, and exhibitions at e-flux in New York