March 11, 2005 - ArtPace | San Antonio - Artists Salute Artpace (ASAp) 10th Anniversary Benefit Auction
March 11, 2005

Artists Salute Artpace (ASAp) 10th Anniversary Benefit Auction

Artists Salute Artpace (ASAp) 10th Anniversary Benefit Auction
Monday, April 18, 2005

Christie’s New York
20 Rockefeller Center 

Media Contact: Libby D. Tilley
T 210 212 4900 x122
F 210 212 4990
ltilley [​at​]

445 North Main Avenue
San Antonio TX 78205-1441
T 210 212 4900
F 210 212 4990

Artpace San Antonio is celebrating a hallmark year in 2005: its 10-year anniversary! To mark this significant milestone, Artpace announces a once-in-a-decade event in New York which will complement the organization’s innovative visual arts programs: Artists Salute Artpace (ASAp).
ASAp, a commemorative auction to benefit Artpace San Antonio, will be held at the world-renowned Christie’s auction house, 20 Rockefeller Center, on Monday, April 18, 2005 in New York, NY. This anticipated event features artwork by a range of Artpace’s impressive roster of artists for one night only. More than seventy distinguished artists are donating work to this occasion, including a work from the estate of Felix Gonzalez-Torres, a sculpture by Mona Hatoum, a large-scale painting by Thomas Scheibitz, as well as works by Jesse Amado, Leonardo Drew, Teresita Fernandez, Antony Gormley, Arturo Herrera, Jim Hodges, Isaac Julien, Glenn Ligon, Christian Marclay, Wangechi Mutu, and Shahzia Sikander among others.

ASAp is a virtual who’s who of recent art history,” say Co-Chairs Jeanne Klein and Toby Devan Lewis, noted contemporary art community leaders who also serve as Artpace board members. “This is a broad-reaching opportunity for collectors of all means to access the most respected artists in contemporary art, while supporting one of today’s most innovative arts organizations.” To reiterate the importance of artists in the mission of Artpace, Isaac Julien and Jim Hodges will serve as Artist Co-Chairs of the event.

The evening will begin with cocktails and silent auction items from 6:30pm – 8:30pm, with live auction bidding from 8:30pm – 9:30pm. A printed catalogue will be available the end of March with on-line access to view the catalogue on Absentee bidding opportunities are available.

Artists who have graciously donated to ASAp include: Jesse Amado, Joan Bankemper, Erik Benson, Nathan Carter, Nate Cassie, Janice Caswell, Brian Conley, Dorothy Cross, Alex de Leon, Jeremy Deller, Lewis deSoto, Alejandro Diaz, Trisha Donnelly, Leonardo Drew, Marcel Dzama, Sharon Engelstein, Tony Feher, Teresita Fernández, Spencer Finch, Kendell Geers, Luis Gispert, Felix Gonzalez-Torres, Antony Gormley, Katy Grannan, Diana Guerrero-Macia, Mona Hatoum, Arturo Herrera, Oliver Herring, Jim Hodges, Teresa Hubbard / Alexander Birchler, Kim Jones, Isaac Julien, Byron Kim, Annette Lawrence, Glenn Ligon, Ken Little, Alex Lopez, Constance Lowe, Inigo Manglano-Ovalle, Christian Marclay, Cesar Martinez, Daniel Joseph Martinez, Josiah McElheny, Yunhee Min, Tracey Moffatt, Franco Mondini-Ruiz, Katrina Moorhead, Wangechi Mutu, Rivane Neuenschwander, Melis Ohanian, Robyn O’Neil, Catherine Opie, Cruz Ortiz, Cornelia Parker, Paul Pfeiffer, Chuck Ramirez, Juan Miguel Ramos, Jason Rhoades, Riley Robinson, Dario Robleto, Lordy Rodriguez, Ruth Root, Peter Rostovsky, Nancy Rubins, Aida Ruilova, Bojan Sarcevic, Chris Sauter, Margo Sawyer, Thomas Scheibitz, Carolee Schneemann, Joyce J. Scott, Shahzia Sikander, Hills Snyder, Yutaka Stone, Diana Thater, Michael Villaquette, Tony Villejo, and Allison Wiese.

Artpace would like to acknowledge Goldman Sachs and McGinty Design for their generous sponsorship. Special thanks to the following benefit committee members who have contributed to underwriting the costs of the event. Grand Benefactor: Melva Bucksbaum and Raymond Learsy, Charles Butt, James R. Hedges, IV, Jeanne and Michel Klein, Toby Devan Lewis, Professor Stephen and Fran Magee, Judith Neisser, Linda Pace, Allison Sarofim, Don Thomas; Benefactor: Frances Dittmer, Cynthia Toles; Patron: Jennifer Abad and Julie Hooper, Roland Augustine, Tony and Jeffery Beauchamp, Maria and Bill Bell, Janet Lennie Flohr and Bruce Flohr, Jan and Ronald Greenberg, Diane and Bruce Halle, Vicki and Kent Logan, Margo, Bob, and Marcy Marbut, Gael Neeson and Stefan Edlis, Guillermo Nicolas, Carolyn and Allan Paterson, Debra and Dennis Scholl, Rosina Lee Yue and Bert A. Lies, Jr., M.D.; Supporter: Alice Carrington, Cindy and Howard Rachofsky, Rodolfo Choperena and Chris Hill, Laura Donnelly-Morton, Robert A. Price, IV; Jan Jarboe Russell and Dr. Lewis F. Russell Jr., Diane Smith, Donna and Howard Stone, and Stacy and Steve Yndo.
About Artpace
Artpace San Antonio serves as an advocate for contemporary art and as a catalyst for the creation of significant art projects. We seek to nurture emerging and established artists and to provide opportunities for inspiration, experimentation, and education. Our programs support the evolution of new ideas in contemporary art and cultivate diverse audiences while providing a forum for ongoing dialogue.

Artpace is located downtown at 445 North Main Avenue, between Savings and Martin streets, San Antonio, Texas. Free parking is available on the corner of Savings and N. Flores streets. Artpace is open to the public Wednesday through Sunday, 12-5 PM, Thursday, 12-8 PM, and by appointment. Admission is free.

Programs at Artpace are made possible through the generous support of individual donors and The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts, National Endowment for the Arts, Kronkosky Charitable Foundation, Texas Commission on the Arts, Étant donnés: the French-American Fund for Contemporary Art, City of San Antonio Office of Cultural Affairs, and the Edouard Foundation.
© 2005 Artpace San Antonio

ArtPace | San Antonio
Share - Artists Salute Artpace (ASAp) 10th Anniversary Benefit Auction
  • Share