Annette Kelm receives Camera Austria Award for Contemporary Photography by the City of Graz 2015

Annette Kelm receives Camera Austria Award for Contemporary Photography by the City of Graz 2015

Camera Austria

Annette Kelm, Untitled (Tulips, Magnets), 2013. C-print, 65 × 80 cm. Courtesy König Galerie, Berlin and Andrew Kreps, New York.
December 8, 2015
Annette Kelm receives Camera Austria Award for Contemporary Photography by the City of Graz 2015
Award ceremony: December 10, 7–9pm
Camera Austria
Lendkai 1
8020 Graz
Hours: Tuesday–Sunday 10am–6pm

T +43 316 815550

The Camera Austria Award for Contemporary Photography by the City of Graz, which is awarded biennially, will be bestowed on German artist Annette Kelm in 2015.

The award will be presented by Lisa Rücker, City Councillor for Cultural Affairs. The laudatio address will be held by Maren Lübbke-Tidow.

Our interest in Annette Kelm’s artistic activity is sustained by her continuity in making pictures, which has always drawn on her cultural environment—people, objects, artefacts never assume the function of pure indices, but rather become independent arrangements, “for all those who behold her pictures tend to grapple with the motifs” (Maren Lübbke-Tidow). So it is this contradiction between literalness and mystification that, in our eyes, makes her works appear exemplary for a productive occupation with present-day contexts related to photography.

Annette Kelm, born 1975 in Stuttgart, lives and works in Berlin. Her work has been presented in solo and group exhibitions at international institutions including MoMA, New York (2013); Presentation House Gallery, Vancouver (2012); Städel Museum, Frankfurt / Main (2012); KW—Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin (2009); Kunsthalle Zurich (2009); and Witte de With, Rotterdam (2008). Her artworks are in important art collections such as MoMA, New York; Centre Pompidou, Paris; Kulturstiftung des Bundes (Germany); Tate Modern, London; and Collection Verbund, Vienna. Annette Kelm participated in the 12th Istanbul Biennial (2012) and in the 54th Venice Biennale (2011). She will have a solo show at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Detroit, curated by Jens Hoffman, in 2016.

Annette Kelm’s work has been published in Camera Austria International no. 102/2008; an individual exhibition at Camera Austria was curated by Maren Lübbke-Tidow in 2009, and most recently, Kelm was the guest editor of Camera Austria International no. 131/2015.

Members of the jury:
Kirsty Bell, freelance writer living in Berlin
Joachim Koester, artist, awardee 2013, Copenhagen/New York
Omar Kholeif, author and curator at Whitechapel Gallery, London
Reinhard Braun, publisher, Camera Austria International, Graz

The jury founded their decision to honour Annette Kelm with this award on the following statement:

“Annette Kelm’s intricately produced images are bound to a history of photography—not only as a medium, but also as a practice, a concept, and a provocation to old and new media. Her photographs, which may at first seem like simple gestures, on further examination reveal a broad set of transcultural references, often deploying humour to critique the acceleration of mass-produced consumerism, or the transience of our sociopolitical allegiances. While exploring the continued potential of the photographic medium, her work posits a sophisticated retort to the mainstream politics of representation and endless reproducibility heralded by the digital and post-digital era. Instead of escape into nostalgic futurity, she gives us a rigorous and critical study of presentness.”

The Camera Austria Award for Contemporary Photography by the City of Graz was established in 1989 and is bestowed every two years on an artist who has published a noteworthy contribution in the magazine Camera Austria International and has made an important contribution to contemporary photography.

The prize money is 14,500 EUR.

Previous recipients of the Camera Austria Award include:
2013: Joachim Koester (Denmark/US); 2011: Heidrun Holzfeind (Austria); 2009: Sanja Iveković (Croatia); 2007: Marika Asatiani (Georgia); 2005: Walid Raad (Lebanon); 2003: Aglaia Konrad (Belgium); 2001: Allan Sekula (US); 1999: Hans-Peter Feldmann (Germany); 1995: David Goldblatt (South Africa); 1993: Seiichi Furuya (Japan/Austria); 1991: Olivier Richon (Switzerland/GB); and 1989: Nan Goldin (US).

RSVP for Annette Kelm receives Camera Austria Award for Contemporary…
Camera Austria
December 8, 2015

Thank you for your RSVP.

Camera Austria will be in touch.


e-flux announcements are emailed press releases for art exhibitions from all over the world.

Agenda delivers news from galleries, art spaces, and publications, while Criticism publishes reviews of exhibitions and books.

Architecture announcements cover current architecture and design projects, symposia, exhibitions, and publications from all over the world.

Film announcements are newsletters about screenings, film festivals, and exhibitions of moving image.

Education announces academic employment opportunities, calls for applications, symposia, publications, exhibitions, and educational programs.

Sign up to receive information about events organized by e-flux at e-flux Screening Room, Bar Laika, or elsewhere.

I have read e-flux’s privacy policy and agree that e-flux may send me announcements to the email address entered above and that my data will be processed for this purpose in accordance with e-flux’s privacy policy*

Thank you for your interest in e-flux. Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.