Joanna Piotrowska receives Camera Austria Award for Contemporary Photography by the City of Graz 2023

Joanna Piotrowska receives Camera Austria Award for Contemporary Photography by the City of Graz 2023

Camera Austria

Joanna Piotrowska, Untitled, 2015. Courtesy of the artist & Southard Reid, London; Galeria Madragoa, Lisbon; Dawid Radziszewski, Warsaw.

September 5, 2023
Joanna Piotrowska receives Camera Austria Award for Contemporary Photography by the City of Graz 2023

Award ceremony: October 6, 2023, 6pm
Camera Austria
Lendkai 1
8020 Graz
Hours: Tuesday–Sunday 10am–6pm

T +43 316 815550
Facebook / Instagram

The Camera Austria Award for Contemporary Photography by the City of Graz, which is awarded biennially, will be bestowed on Joanna Piotrowska in 2023.

Laudatio: Mirela Baciak, director Salzburger Kunstverein

The jury founded their decision to honor Joanna Piotrowska with the Camera Austria Award on the following statement:

“We are pleased to announce that Joanna Piotrowska has been selected as the recipient of the Camera Austria Award for Contemporary Photography by the City of Graz 2023. In making their decision, the jurors of this year’s prize responded to the artist’s ability to evoke the uncanniness of our relationships to our bodies, to architecture, and to one another. With a distinctive and recognizable visual language, Piotrowska’s images consistently make the experience of photography strange – an accomplishment that is all the more worthwhile for her masterful use of the medium. The jurors additionally highlighted the generative tension produced between Piotrowska’s black-and-white images, and her inventive installation techniques which, in engaging with color, consistently animate the experience of photography in new and unexpected compositions. The jury gave rigorous consideration to the equitable distribution of funding and the impact that this prize would have on its recipients’ practice and career. We look forward to seeing how the support and recognition offered by this award will influence the next chapters in Piotrowska’s already noteworthy body of work.”

Members of the jury
Orit Gat, freelance art critic, London
Mitch Speed, freelance art critic, Berlin
Nadine Weixler, artist and chairwoman Fotohof Salzburg
Koshik Zaman, freelance art critic, editor C-print. A journal about contemporary art, Stockholm
Christina Töpfer, editor-in-chief, Camera Austria International

Joanna Piotrowska (b. 1985, Warsaw, lives and works in London) examines the human condition through performative acts and the construction of multiple “social landscapes” using photography, performance, and film. Recent solo exhibitions include Entre nous, Le Bal, Paris (France, 2023); Sub Rosa, with Formafantasma, Phillida Reid, London; Sleeping Throat, Bitter Thirst, Kestner Gesellschaft, Hanover (Germany, 2022); Thump, Museum Insel Hombroich (Germany, 2021); FROWST, Zachęta National Gallery of Art, Warsaw (2020); Stable Vices, Kunsthalle Basel (Switzerland, 2019); and All Our False Devices, Tate Britain (London, 2019). Piotrowska’s work was included in The Milk of Dreams at the Venice Biennale 2022 (IT), Manifesto Of Fragility, 16th Lyon Biennale 2022 (France); and We don’t need another Hero, 10th Berlin Biennale, Germany (2018). Piotrowska’s work is held various collections including: Museum of Modern Art, New York, Centre Pompidou, Paris, and Tate, London.

The Camera Austria Award for Contemporary Photography by the City of Graz was established in 1989 and is bestowed every two years on an artist who has published a noteworthy contribution in the magazine Camera Austria International and has made an important contribution to contemporary photography. The prize-money is EUR 15,000.

Joanna Piotrowska’s work has been published in Camera Austria International no. 146/2019, accompanied by a text by Alexander García Düttmann.

Previous recipients of the Camera Austria Award include
2021: Belinda Kazeem-Kamiński (Austria); 2019: Lebohang Kganye (South Africa); 2017: Jochen Lempert (Germany); 2015: Annette Kelm (Germany); 2013: Joachim Koester (Denmark/US); 2011: Heidrun Holzfeind (Austria); 2009: Sanja Iveković (Croatia); 2007: Marika Asatiani (Georgia); 2005: Walid Raad (Lebanon); 2003: Aglaia Konrad (Belgium); 2001: Allan Sekula (US); 1999: Hans-Peter Feldmann (Germany); 1995: David Goldblatt (South Africa); 1993: Seiichi Furuya (Japan/Austria); 1991: Olivier Richon (Switzerland/GB); and 1989: Nan Goldin (US).

Press inquiries: Angelika Maierhofer, exhibitions [​at​]

Subscribe to our newsletter.

RSVP for Joanna Piotrowska receives Camera Austria Award for…
Camera Austria
September 5, 2023

Thank you for your RSVP.

Camera Austria will be in touch.


e-flux announcements are emailed press releases for art exhibitions from all over the world.

Agenda delivers news from galleries, art spaces, and publications, while Criticism publishes reviews of exhibitions and books.

Architecture announcements cover current architecture and design projects, symposia, exhibitions, and publications from all over the world.

Film announcements are newsletters about screenings, film festivals, and exhibitions of moving image.

Education announces academic employment opportunities, calls for applications, symposia, publications, exhibitions, and educational programs.

Sign up to receive information about events organized by e-flux at e-flux Screening Room, Bar Laika, or elsewhere.

I have read e-flux’s privacy policy and agree that e-flux may send me announcements to the email address entered above and that my data will be processed for this purpose in accordance with e-flux’s privacy policy*

Thank you for your interest in e-flux. Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.