Karl Sczuka Prize

Karl Sczuka Prize

Südwestrundfunk (SWR)

Photo: Jacques Lévesque / SWR.

April 10, 2024
Karl Sczuka Prize

Submission deadline: May 23, 2024, 12pm
Südwestrundfunk (SWR)
Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg

The award is made for “the best production of a work of radio art using musical material and structures in an acoustic performance.”

The Karl Sczuka Prize is awarded for the 63rd time. Award ceremony as part of the Donaueschingen Festival. Submission deadline: May 23 2024, 12pm (CET).

The Karl Sczuka Prize for Works of Radio Art/Ars Acustica, established by the Südwestrundfunk (SWR) in 1955, will be awarded this year for the 63rd time. The invitation to submit works is public and the award consists of a main prize, endowed with 12,500 euros, and a support grant of 2,500 euros. Associated with the support grant is the possibility of carrying out a two-week production in a Südwestrundfunk radio play studio. According to the regulations governing the prize, the award is made for “the best production of a work of radio art using musical material and structures in an acoustic performance.” An independent jury, consisting of Olaf Nicolai (chair), Inke Arns, Julia Cloot, Michael Grote and Thomas Meinecke, will select the prize winners.

The prize is open to authors, composers, directors, and production teams. They must submit their productions to the Südwestrundfunk in the form of an audio file ready for broadcast together with the required documentation and entry form (accessible here) by May 23, 2024. The producer can submit the entry on behalf of the originator. If the first broadcast or publication on a sound storage medium or online has already taken place, its date must not lie before June 1, 2023. Works not yet broadcast are also welcome.

In connection with the Karl Sczuka Prize presentation, the “Karl Sczuka Research Grant in cooperation with the Goethe-Institut” is awarded as an additional prize jointly by SWR and the Goethe-Institut. The aim of the Research Grant, which is endowed with 5,000 euros, is to support the research phase for international radio art projects, which is often only possible under rudimentary conditions. It offers the possibility of a research stay in a non-German-speaking country. The Research Grant, awarded annually, is aimed at artists who work in the field of acoustic and time-based art (audio, performance, and sound artists) that deal with narrative, technical and artistic possibilities of the radio medium and are active in Germany.

The award ceremony of the “Karl Sczuka Prize”, the “Karl Sczuka support grant” and the “Karl Sczuka Research Grant in cooperation with the Goethe-Institut” will take place during the Donaueschingen Festival.

The regulations setting out all the conditions governing the submission of entries are available in German and English. They can be accessed online here.

The application form should be addressed to sczuka-entry [at] swr.de. You will then receive by e-mail the authorisation of a network folder to which you can transfer the required documents (audio file, manuscript, biography, catalogue raisonné, photo). As we do this manually, it may take a while.

If you have any questions, please contact the secretariat of the Karl Sczuka Prize at: sczuka [at] swr.de.

Prize winners have included Frédéric Acquaviva, Juan Allende-Blin, Serge Baghdassarians, Boris Baltschun, Barry Bermange, Martin Brandlmayr, John Cage, Iris Drögekamp, Oswald Egger, Hans-Olaf Ericsson, Luc Ferrari, Hartmut Geerken, Ulrich Gerhardt, Stefano Giannotti, Heiner Goebbels, Hanna Hartman, Carl Michael von Hausswolff, Pierre Henry, Institut fuer Feinmotorik, Ulrike Janssen, Jan Jelinek, Patricia Jünger, Mauricio Kagel, Walter Kempowski, Florian Kindlinger, Alison Knowles, Ferdinand Kriwet, Christina Kubisch, Peter Kutin, Ole Lützow-Holm, Friederike Mayröcker, Thomas Meinecke, Franz Mon, David Moufang, Wolfgang Müller, Olaf Nicolai, Jon Rose, Gerhard Rühm, R. Murray Schafer, Richard P. Scott, Asmus Tietchens, Urs Widmer, Caroline Wilkins, Stephan Wunderlich, Wilhelm Zobl and Peter Zwetkoff.

RSVP for Karl Sczuka Prize
Südwestrundfunk (SWR)
April 10, 2024

Thank you for your RSVP.

Südwestrundfunk (SWR) will be in touch.


e-flux announcements are emailed press releases for art exhibitions from all over the world.

Agenda delivers news from galleries, art spaces, and publications, while Criticism publishes reviews of exhibitions and books.

Architecture announcements cover current architecture and design projects, symposia, exhibitions, and publications from all over the world.

Film announcements are newsletters about screenings, film festivals, and exhibitions of moving image.

Education announces academic employment opportunities, calls for applications, symposia, publications, exhibitions, and educational programs.

Sign up to receive information about events organized by e-flux at e-flux Screening Room, Bar Laika, or elsewhere.

I have read e-flux’s privacy policy and agree that e-flux may send me announcements to the email address entered above and that my data will be processed for this purpose in accordance with e-flux’s privacy policy*

Thank you for your interest in e-flux. Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.