April 3, 2017 - Van Abbemuseum - Becoming More
April 3, 2017

Van Abbemuseum

Design: 75B.

Becoming More
A ten-day caucus
May 18–28, 2017

Van Abbemuseum
Bilderdijklaan 10
The Netherlands
Hours: Tuesday–Sunday 11am–5pm

T +31 40 238 1000

Facebook / Twitter / Instagram

Becoming More  is a ten-day caucus comprising lectures, performances, screenings, commissions, discussions and food hosted by the Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven. The caucus will open on the evening of the May 18 with a keynote lecture by Gloria Wekker.

On the tenth anniversary of the research and exhibition project Be(com)ing Dutch it is time to convene again—to come together to strengthen existing alliances and to develop new affinities. Through the caucus we will ask how art can provide a productive, critical space where solidarities are formed and political visions rehearsed. In other words, it will ask: "How can we become more?"

For Becoming More, the Van Abbemuseum invited artists, organizers and thinkers working in the Netherlands to author distinct days, bringing different forms of knowledge and experiences into the museum. We believe at this critical juncture of unrest, it is vital to listen, consolidate and share. The programme is the outcome of these extensive discussions from which a series of urgent topics have emerged. 

The programme includes:
Friday, May 19: “On Experience and Choices” convened by Iris Kensmil
Saturday, May 20: "Future Caucus” convened by Sven Lütticken and Eric de Bruyn
Sunday, May 21: “Towards Entangled Modes of Becoming More” convened by Emily Pethick and Leire Vegara as part of the DAI’s Roaming Assembly #14
Saturday, May 27: “Krut’krutu” convened by Charl Landvreugd
Sunday, May 28: “House Rules?” convened by Frontier Imaginaries with As Long As it Takes (Bijlmerpark Theatre, HipHopHuis, and University of Colour)

As part of Becoming More, the Roaming Academy (DAI) lands in Eindhoven with the Van Abbemuseum. Seminars, events and exhibitions will unfold throughout the city of Eindhoven.

Becoming More participants include: Karin Amatmoekrim, Jabu Arnell, Amandla Awethu, Raul Balai, Markus Balkenhol, Richard Bell, Zach Blas, Sara Blokland, Jelle Bouwhuis, Ricardo Burgzorg, Sinan Cankaya, Binna Choi, Ernestine Comvalius, Jessica de Abreu, Mariette Dolle, Diedrich Diederichsen, Bassam el Baroni, Mitchell Esajas, Kodwo Eshun, Paul Faber, Chandra Frank, Quincy Gario, Susan Gibb, Ozkan Golpinar, Paul Goodwin, Florian Göttke, Antonio Guzman, Nancy Hoffman, Nancy Jouwe, Guno Jones, Remy Jungerman, Navine Khan Dossos, Yuki Kihara, Patricia Kaersenhout, Maurizio Lazzarato, Imara Limon, Silvia Maglioni & Graeme Thomson, Michael Marder, Marian Markelo, Doreen Mende, Jon Mikel Euba, Wayne Modest, Ruth Noack, Rachel O’Reilly, Rob Perree, Sarah Pierce, Josien Pieterse, Andre Reeder, Resistance is Fertile, Alejandra Riera, Gabriëlle Schleijpen, Jorinde Seijdel, Kerstin Stakemeier, The Umbrella network, Untold, Yolande van der Heide, Els van der Plas, Ferdinand van Dieten, Martijn van Nieuwenhuyzen, Vincent van Velsen, Aruna Vermeulen, Marina Vishmidt, McKenzie Wark, Gloria Wekker, Marga Weimans, Simone Zeefuik, Vivian Ziherl, Tirdad Zolghadr

The caucus is organised by Annie Fletcher with Megs Morley, Nick Aikens, Annette Eliëns, Inge Borsje and the Van Abbemuseum team.

For more information, schedule and booking details please see: www.vanabbemuseum.nl/en/becomingmore

Main partner:
The Dutch Art Institute (DAI) Arnhem

Other partners:
Universiteit Leiden (UL), Koninklijke Academie voor Schone Kunsten (KASK) Ghent, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (VU), Onomatopee, Baltan Laboratories

The caucus is made possible with support from Mondriaan Fund.

Van Abbemuseum
Share - Becoming More
  • Share