November 9, 2007 - SculptureCenter - Blindfolded, an open, collective performance
November 9, 2007

Blindfolded, an open, collective performance

Bendati/Blindfolded
an open, collective performance
Sunday, November 18, 10am

44-19 Purves Street
Long Island City, NY
(1) 718.361.1750

www.sculpture-center.org

10am New York; 11am Buenos Aires; 12pm São Paolo; 3pm London; 4pm Cairo, Rome; 5pm Addis Ababa; 9pm Phnom Penh; 10pm Shanghai

Everyone, all over the world, is invited to take part in the action Bendati/Blindfolded from wherever they happen to be, at the same time.

Participants are asked to remain blindfolded for one hour.

This is to identify with the state of mind of Luigi, who, for over a year now, has had trouble with his eyesight. He must remain in complete darkness, or keep his eyes closed for long periods of time.

Those contributing are free to stay still or move, do something or not, work or rest. Participants are also invited to identify with Luigi’s condition and simply experience the loss of sight for an hour.

After the performance impressions can be posted on forgottensculptors.blogspot.com a space where analogies, coincidences, and individual thoughts may appear; where images and voices seen or heard during the action can find an echo.

Emilio Fantin, Luigi Negro, Giancarlo Norese, Cesare Pietroiusti

Forgotten Sculptors
Bendati/Blindfolded is the last action in a series of events that make up Forgotten Sculptors. Forgotten Sculptors is a project by Fantin, Negro, Norese, and Pietroiusti, produced by SculptureCenter for PERFORMA07. The project began with a series of short email stories; and the second part consisted of a live performance by the four artists with the participation of Joan Jonas and Steve Piccolo, which took place at SculptureCenter on November 3, 2007. For more information about Forgotten Sculptors, please email forgottensculptors@sculpture-center.org

With the support of the Italian Cultural Institute, New York.

For additional information please contact SculptureCenter: (1) 718.361.1750 or info@sculpture-center.org

Media contact: Katie Farrell, kfarrell@sculpture-center.org

About SculptureCenter
Founded by artists in 1928, SculptureCenter is a not-for-profit arts institution dedicated to experimental and innovative developments in contemporary sculpture. SculptureCenter commissions new work and presents exhibits by emerging and established, national and international artists.

SculptureCenter is five minutes from Midtown by subway. Please visit the website for details.

PERFORMA07 (November 1-20, 2007) is the second biennial of new visual art performance presented by PERFORMA, a non-profit multidisciplinary arts organization dedicated to exploring the critical role of live performance in the history of twentieth century art and to encouraging new directions in performance for the twenty-first century. www.performa-arts.org

SculptureCenter

Related
Share
More
SculptureCenter
Share - Blindfolded, an open, collective performance
  • Share
Close
Next