April 8, 2021 - Zumtobel Group Award - Zumtobel Group Award 2021
e-flux Architecture
April 8, 2021
April 8, 2021

Zumtobel Group Award

Winners Zumtobel Group Award 2017. Left: Star Apartments. Photo: Iwan Baan. Middle: Warka Water. Photo: Arturo Vittori. Right: Arnhem Central Station. Photo: Ronald Tilleman.

Zumtobel Group Award 2021
Call for entries

Submission deadline: May 15, 2021


The Zumtobel Group Award honours outstanding and innovative architectural and engineering performances in sustainable solutions, and pioneering social and humanitarian initiatives and research projects in the built environment that make a notable contribution to a liveable, sustainable and equitable future.

The Zumtobel Group is once again calling for entries for its international architecture award, held in 2021. The public call for submissions for the Zumtobel Group Award—Innovations for Sustainability and Humanity in the Built Environment is still open for projects to be submitted until May 15, 2021. The international architecture award—offered in the two categories Buildings and Urban Developments & Initiatives—aims to promote pioneering concepts and developments leading to greater humanity and sustainability in the built environment and the way it is designed. For the first time, the 2021 award also includes a Special Prize for Innovation. As in its preceding years, the Award is curated by Aedes Architecture Forum Berlin.

Architecture and engineering firms, urban and landscape planners, universities and technology companies, NGOs, and public or private initiatives are invited to submit their current projects. The public online application form is available here.

With the architecture award, the Zumtobel Group addresses core issues of our age, such as how best to deal with our finite resources, opportunities for repurposing existing buildings, sustainable development concepts for urban and rural space, utilisation of new materials and innovative processes, and the central question of humane living conditions.

Award categories & prizes
Buildings: 50,000 EUR / Urban Developments & Initiatives: 50,000 EUR / Special Prize for Innovations: 20,000 EUR

Participation is free.

The Austrian based Zumtobel Group with its brands Zumtobel, Thorn and Tridonic

Dr. h.c. Kristin Feireiss and Hans-Jürgen Commerell, Aedes Architecture Forum, Berlin

International expert jury
Liz Diller, Diller Scofidio + Renfro, USA / Alfred Felder, CEO Zumtobel Group, Austria / Francine Houben, Mecanoo, Netherlands / Zhang Ke, ZAO/standardarchitecture, China / Dorte Mandrup, Dorte Mandrup A/S, Denmark / Tobias Nolte, Certain Measures, Germany/USA / Werner Sobek, Werner Sobek AG, Germany / Kjetil Trædal Thorsen, Snøhetta, Norway

Online submissions: Until May 15 via this link
Final Jury: November 2021
Announcement: March 2022
Award Ceremony: March 2022

Contact: Aedes Architecture Forum Berlin, Dr. h.c. Kristin Feireiss / Hans-Jürgen Commerell
T +49 (30) 282 70 15 / zumtobelgroupaward [​at​] aedes-arc.de

Zumtobel Group Award
Share - Zumtobel Group Award 2021
  • Share
Click to subscribe to e-flux and be the first to receive the latest news on international exhibitions and all e-flux related announcements
Subscribe to e-flux
Be the first to receive the latest news on international exhibitions and all e-flux related announcements.
Subscribe to architecture
Explore the most recent content from e-flux architecture and urbanism
Subscribe to e-flux programs
Keep up-to-date on all upcoming talks, screenings, and exhibitions at e-flux in New York