October 10, 2006 - Biennial of the Canaries - 27th Nov 2006 – 10th Feb 2007
October 10, 2006

Biennial of the Canaries
27th Nov 2006 – 10th Feb 2007    

photo: Nacho González

www.bienaldecanarias.org info.bienal [​at​] canariasculturaenred.com


The Biennial of the Canaries is conceived as a singular event that intentionally reflects the specificities of the territory. The southern frontier of Europe, the Canary Islands is a singular, strategically located, North African Atlantic archipelago comprising seven highly different islands, whose shared trait is their common volcanic origin. They are a crossroads of many cultures, of communications, of people, of goods, of trade.

Accordingly, the Biennial is conceived as a fragmentary event extending throughout the whole of the territory of the Canaries.

The idea is to underscore and activate countless singular spaces (both constructed and natural) on the archipelago through a series of 70 artistic actions, paying special attention to the continents of Africa, America and Europe, and featuring a significant representation of contemporary creation produced in these regions, which are rounded off with theoretical encounters in which renowned experts in various disciplines will be taking part.

Featuring artists, architects, critics, curators, educators and other intellectuals and, therefore, from a free, open and imaginative space, the Biennial will address key issues for the future of these islands, like the limit to sustainable growth, the scarcity of natural resources, mobility and communication, cultural diversity, the increasing pressure of urban development, the public space and landscape, all tackled from an essentially territorial perspective.

The Biennial of the Canaries is directed by Rosina Gómez-Baeza

The members of the Scientific Committee of the Architecture Section are:
Miriam Arricivita
Manuel Feo
Juan Antonio González Pérez
Virgilio Gutiérrez
Arsenio Pérez Amaral
Flora Pescador
José Antonio Sosa
Juan Torres

Art Section:
Curator: Antonio Zaya

Participating artists:
Adel Abdessemed · Eija-Liisa Ahtila · Jaafar Akil · Fernando Álamo · Alexis W. · Allora and Calzadilla · Alexander Apóstol · Hamdi Attia · Kader Attia · Juan Carlos Batista · Karina Beltrán · Thami Benkirane · Ursula Biemann · Eelco Brand · Olaf Breuning · Sergio Brito · Mircea Cantor · Jordi Colomer · Alfonso Crujera · Salomé Cuesta / Bárbaro Miyares · Fabiana de Barros / Michel Favre · Allan deSouza · Ángel Delgado · Amal Kenawy · Hala Elkoussy · Jon Mikel Euba · Regina Galindo · Carmela García · Kendell Geers · Ori Gersht · Juan Hidalgo · Alfredo Jaar · Concha Jerez / José Iges · Won Ju Lim · Kcho · Mahmoud Khaled · Ellen Kooi · Pablo León de la Barra · Juan López · Rogelio López Cuenca · Guillermo Lorenzo · Sara Maneiro · Ángel Marcos · Mona Marzouk · Mateo Maté · José Román Mora · David Moratón · Mosco · Nato · Shirin Neshat · Otobong Nkanga · Noxer · Open Circle · Germán Paez · Jesús Palomino · Maria Papadimitriou · Cecilia Paredes · Ester Partegás · Key Portilla Kawamura · PSJM · Younes Rahmoun · Juan Carlos Robles · Julian Rosefeldt · José Ruiz · Ruth Sacks · Teresa Serrano · Siner · Skuf · Javier Tellez · Johan Thom · Torolab · Anton Vidokle / Julieta Aranda · Miwa Yanagi · Z (Club)/ Nestor Torrens

Biennial Offices

Antonio Domínguez Alfonso, 27-3ª planta
Tel.: 34 922 574 752 38003 Santa Cruz de Tenerife

Avda. de Canarias, 8 Edifico Tucán
Tel.: 34 928 277 530 35002 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria


Biennial of the Canaries
Share - 27th Nov 2006 – 10th Feb 2007
  • Share
Click to subscribe to e-flux and be the first to receive the latest news on international exhibitions and all e-flux related announcements
Subscribe to e-flux
Be the first to receive the latest news on international exhibitions and all e-flux related announcements.
Subscribe to architecture
Explore the most recent content from e-flux architecture and urbanism
Subscribe to e-flux programs
Keep up-to-date on all upcoming talks, screenings, and exhibitions at e-flux in New York