April 18, 2017 - International Studio & Curatorial Program (ISCP) - Spring Open Studios / Gazelle Lost in Watts / Centre for Contemporary Art Lagos at ISCP
April 18, 2017

International Studio & Curatorial Program (ISCP)

ISCP resident Ling-lin Ku, After Morning. Photo: Terry Brown.

Spring Open Studios
April 21–22, 2017

Gazelle Lost in Watts
April 21–June 9, 2017

Centre for Contemporary Art Lagos at ISCP
April 21–June 9, 2017

International Studio & Curatorial Program (ISCP)
1040 Metropolitan Ave
Brooklyn, New York 11211

Facebook / Instagram / Twitter

Opening: Friday, April 21, 6–9pm
Open hours: Saturday, April 22, 1–8pm

Open Studios
ISCP invites you to Spring Open Studios, a two-day exhibition of international contemporary art. The 38 artists, artist collectives and curators from 22 countries currently in residence will present work in their studios. Twice a year, ISCP invites the public to Open Studios to view artwork and share conversations with artists and curators from all over the world. Concentrated in one three-story postindustrial loft building on the edge of Bushwick, ISCP has supported the creative advancement of residents for over 20 years, with a robust program of private individual workspaces and professional benefits. 

Exhibitions on view
CCA Lagos at ISCP centers around the exhibition Orí méta odún méta ibìkan. Originally presented at CCA Lagos in 2016, it features works in progress by three Nigerian artists–Kelani Abass, Taiye Idahor and Abraham Oghobase. 

Gazelle Lost in Watts, curated by Pat Elifritz, features works by ISCP alumna Julie Béna and Megan Francis Sullivan, current ISCP Ground Floor resident Raul Valverde, and poet Harmony Holiday. The exhibition is a collaboration with Bard College Center for Curatorial Studies.

Open Studios participating artists and curators:
Damir Avdagic (Norway), Honey Biba Beckerlee (Denmark), Nina Bovasso (United States), Elaine Byrne (United States/Ireland), Naomi Campbell (United States/Japan), Danilo Correale (Italy), Lourdes Correa-Carlo (United States), Alexis Dahan (United States/France), Anne de Vries (The Netherlands), Constant Dullaart (The Netherlands), Derek Dunlop (Canada), Mazaccio & Drowilal (France), Christian Falsnaes (Denmark), Antonio Fiorentino (Italy), Stephanie Gudra (Germany), Mark Hilton (United States), Tetsugo Hyakutake (Japan), Aki Inomata (Japan), Pekka & Teija Isorättyä (Finland), Jess Johnson (Australia/New Zealand), Ayesha Kamal Khan (United States/Pakistan), Ling-lin Ku (Taiwan/United States), Elli Kuruş (Germany), Sonia Leimer (Austria/Italy), Jia-Jen Lin (Taiwan/United States), Tess Maunder (Australia), Srinivas Aditya Mopidevi (India), Yvonne Mullock (Canada/United Kingdom), Jonas Nobel (Sweden), Liam O’Brien (Australia), Liutauras Psibilskis (United States), Bita Razavi (Finland/Estonia/Iran), Lisa Seebach (Germany), Gian Maria Tosatti (Italy), Raul Valverde (United States/Spain), and Betty Yu (United States)

Residency sponsors:
Alberta Foundation for the Arts; Alfred Kordelin Foundation; Arts Queensland; Asian Cultural Council; Australia Council for the Arts; BKA – Bundeskanzleramt Österreich Kunst und Kultur / Arts and Culture Division of the Federal Chancellery of Austria; Brisbane City Council; Creative New Zealand; DAAD – Deutscher Akademischer Austausch Dienst German Academic Exchange Service, North America; Danish Arts Foundation; Dedalus Foundation; Dr. David & Margery Edwards Charitable Giving Trust; Leila Elling; Farnesina Ministero degli Affari Esteri e della Cooperazione Internazionale – Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation; IASPIS – The Swedish Arts Grants Committee’s International Programme for Visual Artists; Inlaks Shivdasani Foundation; The Italian Academy at Columbia University; Italian Cultural Institute of New York; Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen, Cultural Foundation of the Free State of Saxony; Kunststiftung NRW; Manitoba Arts Council; Michael Buxton Collection; Ministry of Culture, Taiwan; Mondriaan Fund; New York City Council District 34; New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, in partnership with the City Council; The New York Community Trust’s Edward and Sally Van Lier Fund; Niedersächsisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kultur and Niedersächsische Sparkassenstiftung; No Standard Pictures; Office for Contemporary Art Norway; Yoko Ono; Saastamoinen Foundation; Toby Devan Lewis Donor Advised Fund of the Jewish Federation of Cleveland; University of the Arts Helsinki; and Alice and Lawrence Weiner

This program is supported, in part, by:
The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts; Arrogant Swine; Austrian Cultural Forum New York; Consulate General of Denmark in New York; Consulate General of Finland in New York; Consulate General of Sweden in New York; Consulate General of the Netherlands in New York; Dennis Elliott Founder’s Fund; Google; Greenwich Collection Ltd.; Lagunitas Brewing Company; Materials for the Arts; The Milton and Sally Avery Arts Foundation; New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, in partnership with the City Council; New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew M. Cuomo and the New York State Legislature; Royal Norwegian Consulate General in New York; and Tattly

ISCP thanks the Director’s Circle members for their support: Anne Altchek, Janet Brief Ezersky, Adrienne Henick, Ellen Rachlin, Lori Reinsberg, Arlene Richman and Laurie Sprayregen

International Studio & Curatorial Program (ISCP)
Share - Spring Open Studios
Gazelle Lost in Watts
Centre for Contemporary Art Lagos at ISCP
  • Share